WBBL 2020 Fixtures Announced

Cricket Australia has announced the schedule of the upcoming Women’s Big Bash League, which kicks off on the 25th of October.


WBBL Kit Launch
WBBL Teams


The elite women’s cricket tournament will feature a full 59-game season, with all the matches to be played in Sydney, across 5 different stadiums. In addition to this, a WBBL village will be set-up in the coming days to accommodate the players and staff from all the eight teams.

The first day of the WBBL season 6 promises to be a blockbuster, with all the 8 teams facing off against each other on opening day. This includes the Sydney Smash – to be played between the Sydney Strikers and Sydney Thunder, and the Melbourne derby featuring the Stars and Renegades. The month-long tournament will be played in five stadiums – North Sydney Oval, Hurstville Oval, Drummoyne Oval, Showgrounds Stadium, and Blacktown International Sports Park.

Sydney Thunder captain, Rachael Haynes, said in an interview to cricket.com.au, “First and foremost it’s just really positive that the WBBL is going ahead, I know our domestic players have been working extremely hard over the preseason so it’s great they’re going to have some high-quality games to participate in. And from our perspective, we’re just really looking forward to being involved.”

Cricket Australia has also announced the formation of a WBBL Village, similar to the ones for the contingents at the Olympics. The Sydney Olympic Park will be turned into a high-class athletes precinct, and exclusive privileges will be afforded to the league in terms of exclusive use of hotels, high-performance facilities, and dining venues, among various other facilities.

Also Read:  Match 29: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Thunder | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

The group stage of the tournament will carry on till the weekend of November 21-22, with semi-finals and finals scheduled between November 25th and November 29th. In a first, the WBBL will feature at least 7 high school students, with Sydney Thunders acquiring the services of eight players under the age of 20. Their youngest is the 17-year-old Phoebe Litchfield.

Rachael Haynes, said in conclusion, “A lot of effort is going in behind the scenes to give it a real village-type atmosphere and it’ll be nice in some respects to be in one spot with all the teams around and hopefully we can put on a really good show for the public.”

Sanstab Das

Your average cricket enthusiast. Loves to write about what he loves to watch.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here