Amy Hunter to lead Ireland’s U19 Squad in Women’s World Cup 2023

With the first-ever, ICC Women’s Under-19 World Cup, just around the corner, Cricket Ireland has announced their Amy Hunter-led squad of 15 which has been briefed right below. The squad is scheduled to play a couple of official and unofficial warm-up games early in January in their lead-up to the upcoming, mega ICC event, and all around the same is briefed below.


Amy Hunter - Creates a World Record
Amy Hunter – Creates a World Record

Ireland U-19 squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup :

Amy Hunter (C), Siúin Wood (VC), Zara Craig, Georgina Dempsey, Rebecca Gough, Abbi Harrison, Jennifer Jackson, Joanna Loughran, Niamh MacNulty, Aimee Maguire, Kia McCartney, Ellie McGee, Julie McNally, Freya Sargent, Annabel Squires

Non-traveling reserves :

Aoife Fisher, Alice Walsh

The coach and support staff that will be traveling with the tournament sees Glenn Querl as the sides head coach, Aideen McGuinness as the team manager, Jay Shelat (Performance Analyst), Julia Webster (Physiotherapist), Robyn Lewis (Assistant Coach) and Alison Cowan (Team Doctor)

The squad is understood to depart on the 1st of January for a lead-up in the host nation as the Ireland U-19 team is scheduled to hold a preparation camp at the University of Pretoria during which the side is scheduled to play a couple of unofficial warm-up fixtures against Zimbabwe and the United Arab Emirates.

The Ireland U-19 women’s team, then, on the 9th of January is scheduled to be their 1st of 2 official warm-up games against the Pakistan Under-19 women’s team at the Tuks Oval, Pretoria and on the 11th of January, the team will then contest in their final and 2nd warm-up game against Namibia Under-19 women’s team at the Hammanskraal Cricket Club, Gauteng.

Also Read:  Warm-Up Match 3: Pakistan U19 v Ireland U19 | Squads | Players to Watch | Fantasy Playing XI 

Ireland placed in group C in their opener on the 15th of January is scheduled to play West Indies Under-19 women’s team at the North West University Oval, Potchefstroom and then play New Zealand and Indonesia on the 17th and 19th of January respectively at the JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals which are scheduled to be played on the 27th of January, while the final is scheduled to be played on the 29th of January(Quotes sourced from Cricket Ireland Media Release)

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here