Railways emerge title Winners after beating Maharashtra by 7 Wickets

On Wednesday, Railways beat Maharashtra by seven wickets to win the senior women’s T20 league. Maharashtra played their fifth final, however ended up on the losing side. On the other hand, Railways continued their domination in the Indian women’s domestic cricket with a thumping win over the Smriti Mandhana-led side.


Railways emerge title Winners after beating Maharashtra by 7 Wickets
Railways emerge title Winners after beating Maharashtra by 7 Wickets


Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Maharashtra posted a competitive score of 4-160 in 20 overs. Captain Smriti Mandhana led from the front as she muscled a delectable 84 off 56 balls to set the tone. Mandhana’s opening partner Shivali Shinde too made a useful contribution of 30 in 25 balls to stitch a 74-run partnership in 9.1 overs. On the other hand, for Railways, off spinner Swagatika Rath wreaked havoc with the ball as she scalped 3-33 in four overs. Railways’ skipper Sneh Rana was the other wicket taker as she chipped in with 1-34 in four overs.

In reply, Railways got off to a flying start, thanks to their opening batter Sabbhineni Meghana who packed a punch with a 32-ball 52 and was well supported by the in-form Dayalan Hemalatha who top scored with a 41-ball 65. The Maharashtra bowlers had no answers to the questions posed by the Railways’ batters. Maya Sonawane was the pick of the bowlers as she claimed 2-22 in 3.1 overs while Mukta Magre was the other wicket taker who accounted for 1-23 in two overs.

  • Maharashtra: 160/4 (20)
Also Read:  Squads for South Africa tour of India announced, Taniya Bhatia, Shikha Pandey and Ekta Bisht Dropped!

Smriti Mandhana: 84 (56)

Shivali Shinde: 30 (25)

Swagatika Rath: 33/3 (4)

Sneh Rana: 34/1 (4)

  • Railways: 165/3 (18.1)

Dayalan Hemalatha: 65 (41)

Sabbhineni Meghana: 52 (32)

Maya Sonawane: 2-22 (3.1)

Mukta Magre: 1-23 (2)

Result: Railways beat Maharashtra by 7 Wickets

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here