Day 6 – Simran Shaikh and Jemimah Rodrigues help Mumbai beat Assam by 10 Wickets

Day 6 of the Senior Women’s T20 tournament 2021-22 saw 18 matches being played today. Out of the 18 matches, 12 were played in the morning and six were played in the evening. In this article, we will look at the six matches that were played in the evening. 


Day 6 - Simran Shaikh and Jemimah Rodrigues help Mumbai beat Assam by 10 Wickets
Day 6 – Simran Shaikh and Jemimah Rodrigues help Mumbai beat Assam by 10 Wickets

Mumbai beat Assam by 10 wickets

Mumbai handed a crushing defeat to Assam as they chased down 64 runs in just 5.1 overs with 10 wickets in hand. Batting first, Assam were restricted to a paltry score of 8-63 in 20 overs. Saima Thakor and Janhvi wreaked havoc with the ball as they scalped two wickets each. In reply, Mumbai’s opening pair of Simran Shaikh (34 not out off 17 balls) and captain Jemimah Rodrigues (29 not out off 14 balls) cruised to the target in a jiffy. On the other hand, Assam’s bowling looked listless as they failed to pick up even a single wicket.

  • Assam: 63/8 (20)

Ruhina Pegu: 16 (36)
Saima Thakor: 2 Wickets
Janhvi: 2 Wickets

  • Mumbai: 65/0 (5.1)

Simran Shaikh: 34* (17)
Jemimah Rodrigues: 29* (14)

Result: Mumbai Won by 10 wickets

Rajasthan beat Andhra by 2 wickets

In a nail biting thriller, Rajasthan beat Andhra by two wickets on the last ball of the match at the Siechem Stadium. Batting first, Andhra posted 8-128 in 20 overs, thanks to Sneha Deepthi’s 70 off 40 balls. On the other hand, for Rajasthan, Shanu was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 3-22 in four overs. In reply, Rajasthan chased down the total in 20 overs, winning the match by two wickets. SR Jat led the run chase with a 39-ball 50 while for Andhra, E Padmaja starred with the ball as she picked up 3-29 in four overs.

  • Andhra: 128/8 (20)

V Sneha Deepthi: 70 (40)
Shanu: 3 Wickets

  • Rajasthan: 129/8 (20)
Also Read:  Member of Indian Women's Cricket Team tests COVID positive: CWG2022

SR Jat: 51 (39)
E Padmaja: 3 Wickets

Result: Rajasthan Won by 2 Wickets 

Odisha beat Jharkhand by 16 runs

Batting first, Odisha put together 3-106 in 20 overs against Jharkhand at the Greenfield Stadium. Kajal Jena top scored with 39 runs off 22 balls for Odisha while Nidhi B picked up 2-21 in three overs for Jharkhand. In reply, Jharkhand were restricted to 7-90 in 20 overs as they fell short of 16 runs. Monika led the run chase with 27 runs off 25 balls however could not find able allies. On the other hand, Sujata Mallik and Priyanka Priyadarshini starred with the ball for Odisha as they struck with two wickets each.

  • Odisha: 106/3 (20)

Kajal Jena: 39 (22)
Nidhi B: 2 Wickets

  • Jharkhand: 90/7 (20)

Monika: 27 (25)
Sujata Mallik: 2 Wickets
Priyanka Priyadarshini: 2 Wickets

Result: Odisha Won by 16 runs

Karnataka beat Madhya Pradesh by 5 wickets

Karnataka won their first match of the tournament as they beat Madhya Pradesh by five wickets at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Batting first, Madhya Pradesh piled up 5-136 in 20 overs, thanks to their skipper Pooja Vastrakar, who top scored with a 41-ball 49. On the other hand, for Karnataka, Chandu V was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 2-33 in four overs. In reply, Karnataka chased down the total in 19.4 overs. G Divya starred with the bat as she muscled 41 runs off 38 balls while for Madhya Pradesh, Soumya Tiwari chipped in with 2-15 in three overs.

  • Madhya Pradesh: 136/5 (20)

Pooja Vastrakar: 49 (41)
Chandu V: 2 Wickets

  • Karnataka: 139/5 (19.4)

G Divya: 41 (38)
Soumya Tiwari: 2 Wickets

Result: Karnataka Won by 5 Wickets

Baroda beat Gujarat by 20 runs

Yastika Bhatia’s 50 helped Baroda put together 7-142 in 20 overs against Gujarat at the IS Bindra Cricket Stadium, PCA. With the ball, for Gujarat, Renuka Chaudhari wreaked havoc picking up 4-20 in four overs. In reply, Gujarat fought hard to score 7-122 in 20 overs but fell shy of 20 runs in the end. Bhavana Goplani’s 58 off 54 balls went in vain as her team failed to cross the line. On the other hand, for Baroda, Tarannum Pathan and captain Radha Yadav chipped in two wickets each.

  • Baroda: 142/7 (20)
Also Read:  Watch Video : Jemimah Rodrigues' 60 Runs in just 41 Balls against Trent Rockets

Yastika Bhatia: 50 (33)
Renuka Chaudhari: 4 Wickets

  • Gujarat: 122/7 (20)

Bhavana Goplani: 58 (54)
Tarannum Pathan: 2 Wickets
Radha Yadav: 2 Wickets

Result: Baroda won by 20 runs

Sikkim beat Arunachal Pradesh by 54 runs

Riding on twin half centuries from Samayita (55 runs off 47 balls) and Purni Maya Guruny (51 not out off 46 balls), Sikkim posted 2-143 in 20 overs against Arunachal Pradesh at the ACA Stadium, Barsapara. For Arunachal Pradesh, Shivi Yadav was the pick of the bowlers as she scalped 2-38 in four overs. With the bat, Megha Sharma fought hard with a 47-ball 49 but kept losing partners at regular intervals. On the other hand, Shristi Rai and Lhakmit Lepcha bagged two wickets apiece for Sikkim.

  • Sikkim: 143/2 (20)

Samayita: 55 (47)
Purni Maya Guruny: 51* (46)
Shivi Yadav: 2 Wickets

  • Arunachal Pradesh: 98/7 (20)

Megha Sharma: 49 (47)
Shristi Rai: 2 Wickets
Lhakmit Lepcha: 2 Wickets

Result: Sikkim won by 54 runs

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here