India A and India D to play the Finals of Challenger Trophy 2022-23

The ongoing edition of the Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy got underway on the 20th of November and has its final scheduled for the 26th which will be played at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur. The now, 4-team tournament had teams play each other once in a round-robin format with the top two from the group stage set to advance to the Finals.


Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium.
Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium.

Day 3, Game : 1

India D – 92/10 (19.4)
India A – 95/3 (18.1)

India D put in to bat first had a poor start as the side lost gun players in Yastika Bhatia (2), Jasia Akhter (1) and Dayalan Hamalatha (0) all inside 3 overs of play and closed out their powerplay with the wicket of Jemimah Rodrigues on 14(14). Aparna Mondal when departed on 13, Ashwini carried on and was accompanied by skipper, Sneh Rana before departing on 31(27). With Tailenders departing early, Sneh Rana’s 23*(30) pushed the sides total to 92. India A in the wickets column had Anjali Sarvani, Sahana S Pawar, Saika Ishaque and Amanjot Kaur with a couple of wickets each to their name.

India A in reply had openers, Nuzhat Parween and S S Shinde put on a fine 44-run opening stand that saw curtains with the latter departing on 27(30). Harleen Deol didn’t disturb the scorecards much as she departed for 1(3) and Muskan Malik then partnered Nuzhat Parween before the latter departed on 24. Muskan and Amanjot Kaur remained unbeaten on respective scores of 20(31) and 17(19) in helping the side clinch a crucial win. India D in the wickets column had Rajeshwari, Priyanka Priyadarshini and Sneh Rana feature with a wicket each to their name.

Also Read:  India B v India D Women | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

Result : India A won by 7 wickets 

Day 3, Game 2 :

India C – 140/6 (20.0)
India B – 141/6 (19.5)

India C put in to bat first had openers, Priya Punia and Sabbhineni Meghana start well with a 52-run stand that came to a close with the wicket of the former on 27(33). The side lost a couple more wickets in quick succession with Meghana and K P Navgire departing on respective scores of 26(25) and 7(5). Skipper, Pooja Vastrakar and Simran Shaikh’s quick-fire knocks came to a close on respective knocks of 27(17) and 32(24). Tailender, Tarannum Pathan with late runs (18) pushed India C’s total to a competitive 140/6. India B with the ball had Arundathi Reddy and Deepti bag 3 wickets each.

India B in reply lost a couple of quick wickets in Shafali Verma (7) and Arundathi Reddy (0) with 14 on board. Opener, Dhara Gujjar and skipper, Deepti then partnered before the two departed in quick succession on scores of 17(23) and 26(18) respectively. H Kazi’s short stay came to a close on 20(20) and the pair of D P Vaidya and Nishu Choudhary (24) stitched an aggressive stand that helped the team close out on the required. A set and attacking Vaidya was joined by Taniya Bhatia and the pair with a ball to spare won the game for their side remaining unbeaten on 41(27) and 3(5) respectively. India C with the ball had, Pooja Vastrakar and K R Zanzad bag a couple of wickets each, while Rashi Kanojiya and Keerthy K James bagged a wicket each.

Result: India B won by 4 wickets

India D and India A will contest in the Final on the 26th of November at 4:30 PM at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur having finished 1st and 2nd respectively on an intriguing looking points table that’s briefed below.

Also Read:  Summary: 1st T20 - Elyse Villani and Sammy-Jo Johnson give Australia 'A' dominant win over India 'A'
India D 3 2 1 1.678 8
India A 3 2 1 0.146 8
India B 3 2 1 -0.372 8
India C 3 0 3 -1.388 0
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here