West Indies Selection panel announces 14-member squad for the remaining three ODIs against Pakistan

On July 12, The West Indian Cricket Women’s Selection Panel announced a 14-member squad for the remaining three matches of the five-match ODI series against Pakistan at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (SVRS) in Antigua.


West Indies women's cricket team. PC: WindiesCricket / Twitter
West Indies women’s cricket team. PC: WindiesCricket / Twitter


The selection committee also named a 12-member squad for the West Indies “A” team against the Pakistan “A” in the remaining two 50 over matches on July 13 and 16 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground (CCG) in Antigua.

In the senior squad, Caneisha Isaac and Aaliyah Alleyne have both left the West Indian camp due to injuries.  Rashada Williams and Shabika Gajnabi have been named to replace them in the squad.

Ann Browne-John, CWI’s Lead Selector of the Women’s Panel, said: “The team has had two clinical victories in the first two CG Insurance ODIs. There have been some outstanding innings and the bowling has been generally spot on.”

“All-rounder Chinelle Henry is back which will strengthen both batting and bowling. In addition, Shabika Gajnabi and Rashada Williams who have both performed well in the ‘A’ team have been included which gives them the opportunity to get more experience at the senior level.”

Pakistan tour of West Indies has been a really incredible tour for the home team. First, they won the T20I series by 3-0, a clean sweep and now they are leading the ODI series by 2-0. The third match of the series will be played on July 12 at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua.

West Indies senior squad: Stafanie Taylor (Captain), Anisa Mohammed (Vice-Captain), Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Shabika Gajnabi, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Rashada Williams

Also Read:  Pakistan Women National side and ‘A’ team to play together for the first time

West Indies “A” Team: Reniece Boyce (Captain), Shanika Bruce, Cherry Ann Fraser, Jannillea Glasgow, Shenata Grimmond, Zaida James, Japhina Joseph, Qiana Joseph, Mandy Mangru, Kycia Schultz, Steffie Soogrim, Rachel Vincent

Source: wiplayers.com

Liked the story? Leave a comment here