Australia’s chances at the T20 World Cup 2020

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 will take place in Australia from 21 February to 8 March 2020.

The Australian women’s national cricket team had an outstanding Ashes series in July, beating England – the only other fully professional women’s cricket team in the world. The team will now look to defend its Twenty20 (T20) World Cup title in February 2020.

Australian Women's Cricket Team
Australian Women’s Cricket Team

This was also the year Cricket Australia announced its commitment to equal prize money for the men’s and women’s teams in the T20 World Cup, agreeing to pay the difference in the amount awarded by the International Cricket Council (ICC)

Players in focus:

Meg Lanning – Another collector of records. In 2011 she became the youngest male or female Australian to score an ODI century; in 2012 she smashed the record for the fastest ODI century by an Australian and in 2014, aged 21, she was handed the captaincy. She was, inevitably, Australia’s youngest. Under her leadership, Australia have won the T20 World Cup twice and have just broken the record for consecutive wins in ODIs – 18 – surpassing the achievements of Belinda Clark’s great team.

Ellyse Perry – A woman who does it all – opens the bowling, fields like a gazelle and scores effortless runs in the middle order. An integral cog in Australia’s ODI and T20 World Cup wins this decade, she has been called the “greatest female cricketer we’re ever going to see” by Charlotte Edwards. Certainly, she reigns supreme as the best female cricketer currently on the planet. Football’s loss has been cricket’s joy. Ellyse Perry has been crowned the international women’s cricketer of the year, as Australia scooped the pool at the ICC awards in 2019.

Also Read:  Summary: 2nd ODI - Marizanne Kapp and Shabnim Ismail seal series 2-0 for the Proteas

Megan Schutt – Terrorises the opposition with the swinging ball, and consistently hovers around the top of the ICC bowling rankings. She is also the first Australian woman to take an ODI hat trick.

“We’ve said from day one, the WBBL is very important for T20 selection and pretty much all of those players have performed at some point through this tournament,” Matthew Mott, (Australia Women’s Team coach) told

“There are usually around three spots (available).”

“Our top 12 will probably pick themselves and (after that) you look at who are potentially good impact players off the bench who can fill a couple of roles.”

“Generally in a T20 World Cup, if you find the right formula in the first couple of games – even though we’re playing on some different wickets and different opponents – you’re not going to change your team outside of that top 12 or 13 a whole lot,” he added.

It was a decade of dominance for the women, who lifted four Twenty20 World Cups to go with their 50-over world title in 2013. The women’s game entered the professional era with Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, and Meg Lanning becoming household names. Perry is set to stand the test of time as one of the finest players this country has produced. surging women’s side lifted the Twenty20 World Cup late in 2018 and then the Ashes the following year.

Australia are considered to be one of the strongest teams and by looking at their performances they are good to go for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2020.

Prajakta Bhawsar

An ardent cricket admirer who grew up watching a lot of cricket. She loves reading up articles for breakfast, prefers match discussions at lunch and finishes by analyzing games for dinner. A person who views sports as a metaphor of life.

Also Read:  Alyssa Healy smashes Fastest Ever Fifty in the ICC Final Event, breaks Hardik Pandya's record

Liked the story? Leave a comment here