Group E: Round VII – Bengal win over Delhi as Maharashtra lose to Goa in a close game

Group E: Round VII – Bengal win over Delhi as Maharashtra lose to Goa in a close game – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Date: 23 October 2019

Venue: AOC Ground, Secunderabad

Match 3: Bengal vs Delhi

Bengal battled in the first innings of the match. Richa Ghosh who also keeps for her side made the most runs. She made 67 runs in only 36 balls, scoring at a strike rate of above 186. Mandira Mahapatra contributed 28 runs to the team’s score. Bengal made 136 runs and lost 7 wickets in 20 overs. Madhu Singh of Delhi had a 3-wicket haul to her name.

In reply, the top batters of Delhi were dismissed cheaply. It was number 7 batter Mandeep Singh who made 13 in 17 balls. Lalita Sharma 16(31) and Manju Atma Ram 13(12) both remained not out to take Delhi’s score to 76/7. Bengal’s Shrayosi Aich scalped 4 wickets.

Result: Bengal won by 60 runs.

Match 4: Goa vs Maharashtra

It was a close match in Secunderabad as Goa and Maharashtra gave a neck-to-neck performance. Maharashtra batted first with its openers Anagha Deshpande 25(33) and Shivali Shinde 23(22) starting well. Mukta Magre and Sayali Lonkar made 28 and 24 respectively in as many balls. Maharashtra made 115 runs and lost 4 wickets in 20 overs.

Goa didn’t have a good start as they lost both their openers in 4 overs. In the next over, captain Sanjula Naik was run out on 1 and it seemed that Maharashtra had an upper hand in the game. But as they say, when the going gets tough, the tough get going. It was Sunanda Yetrekar and Tejashwini Duragad who made 38 and 39 runs respectively to take the team close to the target. Nikita Malik made 14 runs in 12 balls to chase the target in the final ball of the innings. Goa finished the chase on a successful note at 116/6.

Also Read:  Match 20: Mignon du Preez's Fifty guides Hobart Hurricanes to a 6 Wicket Victory over Melbourne Stars

Result: Goa won by 4 wickets.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here