14 members Commentators panel For T20 World Cup 2018 announced

The commentary line-up for the event features former India captain Anjum Chopra, former Australia player Lisa Sthalekar, leading cricket broadcaster Melanie Jones, former England captain Nasser Hussain, former India batsman Sanjay Manjrekar and former West Indies bowler Ian Bishop amongst others in the 14-member panel.

The coverage, produced by ICC TV, will see a minimum of 22 cameras at all three venues and the semi-finals and the final in Antigua will also see the use of a Spidercam – the first time the camera is being used for cricket in the Caribbean.

The Decision Review System (DRS) using ball-tracking and edge detection technology, will be implemented for the first time at any ICC World Twenty20 event – men’s or women’s.

Here’s what the commentators had to say about the upcoming tournament: 

Anjum Chopra: “Women’s cricket has improved by leaps and bounds and what we get to watch now is some very high quality cricket. The ICC Women’s World Cup last year was huge in the way women’s cricket was broadcast and consumed, and it’s no surprise that we’re now seeing all 23 games of the ICC Women’s World T20 being broadcast live. It will be the first standalone Women’s World T20 and I’m sure fans from all over the world are looking forward to this event. I’m glad to be a part of this.”

Nasser Hussain: “I’m keenly awaiting the ICC Women’s World T20 2018. This is the first standalone Women’s World T20 and a huge step forward for the women’s game. With increased exposure and all matches being broadcast live, the number of fans of the women’s game will only increase.”

Also Read:  An Open letter to Indian Women World Cup Team

Sanjay Manjrekar: “I was fortunate enough to cover the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 in England. It was a tremendous success with the final played in front of a packed house at Lord’s. I look forward to working on this edition of the ICC Women’s World T20 in the West Indies where every match will be broadcast live. I can’t wait for the tournament to start!”

Lisa Sthalekar: “The build-up to the ICC Women’s World T20 has been fantastic and the tournament is now upon us. I’m really happy to be part of the broadcast coverage and I’m looking forward to witnessing some top-class women’s cricket. I’m sure we will have a lot of exciting matches during the tournament.”

The Commentators’ Team: Melanie Jones, Lisa Sthalekar, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop, Lesley Murdoch, Sanjay Manjrekar, Anjum Chopra, Alan Wilkins, Tom Moody, Mark Butcher, Daren Ganga, Natalie Germanos and HD Ackerman

This Article was first published on ICC Website

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here