Womens Big Bash League 2 win/loss summary so far

You must be thinking the female cricket force is driven to the backseat due to recent inactivity after the Asia Cup concluded recently this month. Apparently, the journey of a woman cricketer doesn’t go on a standstill because even if it is not floating in the air a lot does happen every day over the pitch. The Women’s Big Bash League abbreviated as WBBL is running in Australia. The Australian women’s domestic competition has a format adhering to T20 and the tournament is played between 8 teams. The appearance and structure is similar to the Men’s Big Bash League as the 8 teams carry the same team names and colors from the existing ones.

Image Source: 

The teams are as follows:

  1. Adelaide Strikers Women
  2. Brisbane Heat Women
  3. Hobart Hurricanes Women
  4. Melbourne RenegadesWomen
  5. Melbourne StarsWomen
  6. Perth ScorchersWomen
  7. Sydney SixersWomen
  8. Sydney ThunderWomen

Some quick figures:

The WBBL has already commenced and the first match was played on the 10th of December in Sydney.
A total of 55 matches will be held before the semi-finals and the final.
In all the WBBL will cover 58 matches and the final will be held on January 28.
It is the second edition of the WBBL this year.
The title winner of the first season was the team of Sydney Thunder.
Last season out of 14 matches in all this team had willingly won 9 matches and managed to win the finals by 3 wickets with 3 balls remaining against the team of Sydney Sixers.

Here is the current progress so far based on the matches played, won and lost.

All the teams except Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers have played 5 matches each. The above mentioned two teams have played only 4 matches yet. Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Strikers, Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Thunder are at the advantage as they are in the upfront if the table. On the other hand Perth Scorchers, Brisbane Het, Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Renegades lie in the lower half of the table. Melbourne Stars is leading with 4 out of 5 matches in hand with 8 points. The next position goes to the team of Adelaide Strikers as carry 7 points by winning 3 matches. The 3rd position goes to Hobart Hurricanes after securing 6 points. They have won 3 and lost 2 matches in all. The last team to maintain their position in the upper half is Sydney Thunder after winning only 2 matches out of 5 and carrying 5 points. Perth Scorchers have played only 4 matches winning 2 and losing 2 matches with 4 points. After have won only 2 matches out of 5 and lost 3 Brisbane continues to hold the 6th position with 4 points. Sydney Sixers which were the runner-ups last season have won only 1 match out of 4 matches carrying 2 points. The team to come last in the entire table is Melbourne Renegades having won only 1 out of 5 matches with 2 points.

Also Read:  Reliving the Top Moments in Last Decade of Women's Ashes (2013-2023)

There are still 17 matches that have to be played before the semi-finals. These 17 matches are crucial at this point as they can actually disturb the current ordering of the points table. A series of nail-biting matches to follow ahead that will pave the way of victory to the title this year. With the finals approaching soon enough the second edition of the WBBL is going to be a definite success and another story to be written in the line of female cricket.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here