All you need to know about 6th ACC Women’s Asia Cup

ACC Women's Asia Cup 2016
Female Cricket environment will be on its way to set in for the ambiance of the coming Women’s Asia Cup which shall commence soon. This is the sixth renewal of the Women’s Asia Cup which will be held between November 26 and December 4 this year. Let us hold back and evaluate the journey of this cup as it prepares to be on the reward position again for being won by honorable efforts.

The Women’s Asia Cup is administrated by the Asia Cricket Council which examinates the ability and unity of the women’s cricket teams through challenging ODIs and exciting T20s. I breathe in proudly as I write that the ownership of the current championship lay in the hands of our Indian team. They have earned respect by successively bagging the title five times.

The first Women’s Asia Cup was held in the year of 2004 in Sri Lanka. India won the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the five-match ODIs in April the same year and waved their victory as a team to win the cup at the first year. The next renewal was done in the year of 2005-06. Pakistan made their first appearance by hosting the Asia Cup in December 2005 and January 2006. Pakistan couldn’t make it to the final but India remained consistent by beating Sri Lanka again by 97 runs in the finals. India became the host for the third tournament of Women’s Asia Cup which was played between the year 2006-07. India won the title again as Sri Lanka had to face the loss of 8 wickets in Jaipur, our pink city.

Also Read:  Is India Women Cricket Team a ‘Soft Target' by ICC or has been victimized by their own board?

The next tournament of the Women’s Asia Cup was held in the month of May of the year 2008. India earned the title the fourth time. Sri Lanka lost the final as India walked off by an advantage of 177 runs. The Women’s Asia Cup was renewed for the fifth time in 2012. Away from the usual, it was held at the Guanggong Cricket Stadium in China this time. The tournament went through the time period of 24-31 October. It was the first time Pakistan could make it to the finals of this cup. Although they tried their best they couldn’t match the Indian standard as the Indian team defeated them by a factor of 19 runs.

India has always been perseverant in achieving the status of the most successful team in the history of Women’s Asia Cup. Their efforts have paid through brilliant performances delivered at the pitch which gave us few of the most talented female cricketers. To others, the tournaments have given an experience that they can carry along as they will give their best at an International level. The Women’s Asia Cup is about to begin and this time we have Thailand who’ll be hosting it.

The teams fighting the battle this year will be India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and the host Thailand. The six-nation cup will be played in Thailand. All the best to the Indian Women’s team. With the extra effort you put in every session you are actually preparing for the moment ahead. You are writing portions of the future you still have to unfold. So deliver your best and make history repeat itself.

Also Read:  1st T20I - Dane van Niekerk's all-round show powers SA to 1-0 lead over Sri Lanka

All the best.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here