Who are the players selected for historic Australia A Women’s tour of India

Cricket Australia is sending a strong squad with perfect blend of experience and youth to the forthcoming tour to India. It will be for the first time in history of Women’s cricket that Australia A will be playing against India A. The touring team will play 3 one day matches and 3 T20 matches.

Who are the players selected for historic Australia A Women's tour of India
Image Source: ESPN Cricinfo

Many players selected in the Aussie squad have represented Australia Women’s at international level too. The tour is scheduled to help the players accustom to foreign conditions and nurture new talent as well.

Below are some key names featuring in the Australian squad –

Naomi Stalenberg – She has made an appearance in a T20 international against India but her only contribution was one catch. However, she has made useful contributions and was part of the tournament winning squads in both WT20 and WNCL in 2014.

Molly Strano – Specialist spinner who has been part of the Australian squad. She was the most valuable bowler with 18 wickets during first edition of WBBL. She has played 5 T20Is with best of 5 for 10.

Amanda-Jade Wellington – the leggie who took a wicket of her very first ball in international cricket against the Proteas women in 2016. She also is a useful contributor with the bat. She has 15 wickets in ODIs and 10 wickets in T20Is with best of 4/16.

Belinda Vakarewa – one of the most promising bowlers of Australia, she has featured in an ODI against the Lankans in 2017.

Lauren Cheatle – 19 year old Left arm fast medium bowler who represents New South Wales at domestic level. She has played 7 T20 Internationals and picked up 5 wickets so far. This 19 year old talented bowler is expected to work wonders and is often compared to Elysse Perry due to her sporting abilities.

Also Read:  Summary: Match 16 - Meg Lanning's explosive knock leads Perth Scorchers to a win - WBBL05

Samantha Bates – left arm spinner who represents Sydney Thunder and ACT Meteors.

Heather Graham – a 22 year old, who is considered as the batting prodigy has represented Perth Women and also Essex women. She is also a useful medium pace bowler.

Piepa Cleary – Medium fast bowler who has been part of the Aussie first class setup for quite a while and has been amongst wickets.

Sammy Jo Johnson – another all-rounder who has represented Brisbane Heat and Queensland Women. However, her career has been marred by injuries so far.

Tahlia Mcgrath – She has represented Australia against South Africa and England. She hasn’t had the brightest of starts to the international career but has been a top performer at domestic level.

Chloe Piparo – She is another exciting talent who is a useful batsman averaging more than 30 at domestic level.

A good performance by these players will give them an opportunity to be considered in the senior squad for future tours. Also, players like Sammy Jo Johnson, Piparo who now have not been in the setup will get a chance to pave their way back in the squad basis some strong performances.

Indian Women’s squad for this series is yet not declared. However, the upcoming preparatory tour to Caribbean will not be taking place due to financial issues faced by Windies board. It is an opportunity for the selectors to use this series as a much need platform to get more match practise against a good opponent.

Indians could try to give much needed time on the field for Veda Krishnamurthy, Ekta Bisht and few others along with other youngsters looking forward to the future.

Also Read:  2nd T20: England A vs Australia A | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

Australia A Squad –

Piepa Cleary, Samantha Bates, Sammy Jo Johnson, Maitlan Brown, Chloe Piparo, Lauren Cheatle, Tahlia McGrath, Josephine Dooley, Heather Graham, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Georgia Redmayne, Naomi Stalenberg, Belinda Vakarewa, Molly Strano

Schedule –

One-day matches –
15th Oct, 2018 v India A
17th Oct, 2018 v India A
19th Oct, 2018 v India A

T20 matches –

22nd Oct, 2018 v India A
24th Oct, 2018 v India A
26th Oct, 2018 v India A

All the matches will be played at BKC, Mumbai

Jayesh Trimbakkar

A digital marketing consultant by profession, a student of strategy and business. Food lover, passionate about Cricket and a huge fan of the Windies cricket team.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here