Delhi Capitals stuns Mumbai Indians, breaks their 8 match winning-streak at Kotla Stadium

In the 12th match of Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 and the 1st at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi, the Delhi Capitals made a clinical performance against the arch-rivals Mumbai Indians doing well in both departments.

Delhi Capitals stuns Mumbai Indians, breaks their 8 match winning-streak at Kotla Stadium
Delhi Capitals stuns Mumbai Indians, breaks their 8 match winning-streak at Kotla Stadium

To start with, Harmanpreet Kaur, the captain of Mumbai Indians, won the toss for 3rd straight time after winning the toss only 3 times last season and elected to field first.

The Delhi openers, Shafali Verma and captain Meg Lanning again gave a good start to the team scoring 56 runs in the power play. In the 1st spell by Shabnim Ismail in the power play, she became only the 3rd woman bowler to bowl over 130 kmph, after Cathryn Fitzpatrick and Ellyse Perry clocking 132.1 kmph.

Meg Lanning went on to score her 5th WPL fifty and 3rd in WPL 2024, both being the most, also the 1st player in WPL to cross the 500 run mark, and ended up scoring 53(38). Later on, Jemimah Rodrigues made sure that the momentum was not lost and scored a maiden WPL fifty at a brisk rate and went on to score 69(33) and made the Delhi team reach 192/4 at the end of 20 overs.

Highest scores in WPL 2024

Smriti Mandhana 80(50) RCB VS UPW

Alice Capsey 75(53) DC VS MI

Smriti Madnhana 74(43) RCB VS DC

Jemimah Rodrigues 69(33) DC VS MI

Shafali Verma 64*(43) DC VS UPW

When the Mumbai batters came in for the chase they never looked comfortable for long enough and kept on losing wickets along with the runs scored and set an unwanted record.

Also Read:  Delhi Capitals break Mumbai Indians winning streak while chasing at Arun Jaitley

Most runs scored and most wickets lost in the powerplay

31-5 GG VS DC 2023

54-4 MI VS DC 2024

47-4 RCB VS MI 2023

To follow up, Titas Sadhu, who was just playing her 2nd WPL match took her maiden WPL wicket by dismissing Amelia Kerr. On the other side, Amanjot Kaur of Mumbai Indians scored her highest score of 42(27) in WPL following a top-order collapse. After constant effort from the Mumbai lower-order batters, the target of 193 was steep enough for them to chase it down, and eventually, the Delhi Capitals became the 1st team to successfully defend a target against the Mumbai Indians in WPL, beating them by 29 runs.

Largest win in WPL 2024 in terms of runs

DC Women by 29 runs VS MI Women

DC Women by 25 runs VS GG Women

DC Women by 25 runs VS RCB Women

RCB Women by 23 runs VS UPW Women

Purple cap list

Jess Jonassen – 3 matches 9 wickets

Radha Yadav – 5 matches 8 wickets

Marizanne Kapp – 4 matches 8 wickets

Sophie Ecclestone – 5 matches 7 wickets

Sobhana Asha – 5 matches 7 wickets

Orange cap list

Smriti Mandhana – 5 matches 219 runs

Meg Lanning – 5 matches 201 runs

Alice Capsey – 5 matches 167 runs

Sabbhineni Meghana – 5 matches 164 runs

Grace Harris – 5 matches 158 runs

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here