Lack of depth? Here are 60 Players that can make it to Women’s T20 Challenge 2021

Last year, the Women’s T20 Challenge was played among three teams over six days at Sharjah. With Jio coming on board as title sponsor and Dream 11, Tata Altroz, Paytm, and CEAT extending their support, the tournament garnered popularity and viewership.


Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana
Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana. PC: BCCI


This year the Women’s T20 Challenge will be underway within a couple of weeks or so and will be played alongside the IPL. Talks and discussions about whether to have one more team in the tournament have taken the internet by storm as the fans and cricket pundits are voicing their opinions on social media.

There are mixed thoughts as one set of people do not feel the need to add another team citing a lack of quality players, while the other set is craving to have one additional team in the mix.

In this article, we will look to address the issue of the availability of quality players. But before that here is a quick look at the Indian players that featured in last year’s Women’s T20 Challenge:

  1. Harmanpreet Kaur
  2. Jemimah Rodrigues
  3. Priya Punia
  4. Anuja Patil
  5. Radha Yadav
  6. Taniya Bhatia
  7. Poonam Yadav
  8. Arundhati Reddy
  9. Pooja Vastrakar
  10. Ayushi Soni
  11. Muskan Malik
  12. Smriti Mandhana
  13. Deepti Sharma
  14. Punam Raut
  15. Richa Ghosh
  16. Dayalan Hemalatha
  17. Nuzhat Parween
  18. Rajeshwari Gayakwad
  19. Harleen Deol
  20. Jhulan Goswami
  21. Simra Bahadur
  22. Kashvee Gautam
  23. Mithali Raj
  24. Veda Krishnamurthy
  25. Shafali Verma
  26. Sushma Verma
  27. Ekta Bisht
  28. Shikha Pandey
  29. Devika Vaidya
  30. Sushree Dibyadarshini
  31. Manali Dakshini
  32. Murali Anagha
  33. Meghna Singh

11 out of 15 players from each team were Indian while the remaining four were foreign. On conservative grounds and owing to the pandemic-like situation, if we assume that the Women’s T20 Challenge will be played only by the Indian players this year, then we would require a pool of 60 players if we want to have four teams.

Also Read:  Statistical Analysis - Top Performers of Senior Women's T20 League 2021-22

Also Read: Why is it the right time to have 4 Team Women’s IPL ?

Since we already have 33 players, the question is of the remaining 27, to make it a total of 60 players, that is 15 per side.

Based on the on-going senior women’s one-day tournament and past domestic T20 fixtures, we have picked up 27 players, who are proficient and have the ability to play at the highest level. Here is the list of 27 players that ensures that we have enough bench strength and a 4 Team Women’s T20 Challenge is very much possible.

Sr. No. Player State Proficiency
1 Divya Gnanananda Karnataka Batting
2 Sarika Koli Sikkim All-rounder
3 Bhakti Tamore Pondicherry Batting
4 Rinki Rajak Sikkim Batting
5 Ruchita Buley Mizoram All-rounder
6 Sayali Satghare Mumbai Bowling
7 Minnu Mani Kerala All-rounder
8 Mansi Joshi India player Bowling
9 MD Thirushkamini Railways Batting
10 Niranjana Nagarajan Tamil Nadu All-rounder
11 Sneh Rana Railways Bowling
12 Amruta Saran Pondicherry Bowling
13 Nupur Kohale Vidarbha Bowling
14 Lalita Sharma Delhi Bowling
15 Kanika Ahuja Punjab Bowling
16 Priti Yadav Madhya Pradesh Bowling
17 Madhusmita Behera Odisha Bowling
18 Sajana S Karnataka Bowling
19 Indrani Roy Jharkhand Batting
20 Bhawna Ohlan Haryana Batting
21 P P Paul West Bengal Batting
22 C H Jhansi Lakshmi Andhra Pradesh Batting
23 Bharati Fulmali Vidarbha Batting
24 S Shubha Karnataka Batting
25 Mamtha Kanojia Hyderabad Batting
26 S Meghana Railways Batting
27 Amanjot Kaur Chandigarh Batting


Through this article, we take the opportunity to invite you to contribute your 27 players, who according to you can make it to the Women’s T20 Challenge this year.

Also Read:  Indian Senior Women's Squad for Asian Games 2023 in Hangzhou announced

The views and suggestions expressed in the article are of the author and not the organization, its affiliates, or employees.

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here