Who are the 12 Overseas Cricketers to feature in Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 in UAE?

The squads for the three teams for IPL Women’s Challenge – Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity, was announced by BCCI today. The showcase event will be played during the IPL playoffs, between November 4-9. The recently appointed selection panel for women’s cricket in India, led by former Indian international, Neetu David, selected the Indian and international players for the event. Along with the Indian superstars, the Women’s Challenge will feature 12 overseas players.


 Women's T20 Challenge, 2019
Danielle Wyatt and Jemimah Rodrigues pose for a selfie. Women’s T20 Challenge, 2019 . Credits: Photo by Saikat Das /SPORTZPICS for BCCI


For the first time in its history, WIPL will see representation from the continent of Africa, through South Africa, and also, IPL’s first Thai player. Thailand’s first-ever player to score a half-century at the T20 World Cup, Nattakan Chantham, will ply her trade for Smriti Mandhana-led Trailblazers. The girls in pink also has the explosive opening batter, Deandra Dottin, in their ranks. Dottin was one of the bright spots in West Indies’ 5-0 whitewash on their tour to England. She was the highest run-scorer of the series, with 185 runs, featuring 2 50’s.

Trailblazers will have one of the strongest lineups on paper, with their bowling department being led by the No. 1 bowler in the women’s game, Sophie Ecclestone. She took 8 wickets at the 2020 T20 WC and propelled the English to a semi-finals spot, where they went out to India. The fourth overseas spot for the Trailblazers will be taken by Bangladesh off-break bowler, Salma Khatun.

Also Read:  Match 12: England v New Zealand Women | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

All the focus will be on the IPL Supernovas, who are the most successful team in the brief history of WIPL. They won the trophy on both occasions, defeating Trailblazers in the 2018 finals, and Mithali Raj’s Velocity last year. Supernovas will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur, and assisted by Jemimah Rodrigues, in her capacity as vice-captain.

Supernovas will avail the services of one of the first two South African’s in WIPL – Ayabonga Khaka. Khaka has 100 wickets to her name in her international career, consisting of 60 ODI’s and 29 T20I’s, and is among one of the mainstays in the South African setup. She will be joined by former Sri Lankan captain’s Chamari Atapattu and Shashikala Siriwardene.

The latter was the island nation’s captain for a long time, before announcing her retirement in March this year. She was the first to take 100 wickets for Sri Lanka in WODI’s. The last overseas spot for the girls in blue will go to the West Indies veteran, Shakera Selman, who has taken 108 wickets from 158 international caps.

Leading the Velocity will be a veteran herself – Mithali Raj. She will have Veda Krishnamurthy as her deputy and will have the hard-hitting English opener, Danielle Wyatt, in her side. Wyatt participated in last year’s IPL as well and played a vital role in Velocity’s run to the finals in their first-ever season. Joining her will be South African all-rounder Suné Luus, who might be the X-factor they need to get over the line this time around.

She has over 150 international caps at the age of just 24 and is one of the mainstays of the emerging South African side. Luus has 1884 runs in her international career, along with 144 wickets falling to her mystery leg-spin. Velocity will also have Bangladesh quickie, Jahanara Alam, who was a key ingredient in Bangladesh’s incredible Asia Cup win, defeating India in the finals. Rounding up the international quota will be New Zealand all-rounder Leigh Kasperek, who has 116 wickets and a WODI 100 in her international career of 73 matches.

Sanstab Das

Your average cricket enthusiast. Loves to write about what he loves to watch.

Also Read:  "Women cricketers need the right conditions to showcase attractive brand of cricket," says Lisa Sthalekar

Liked the story? Leave a comment here