Series Preview: Women T20 Quadrangular Series in Patna featuring India A, B, Thailand and Bangladesh

The Quadrangular T20 Series featuring India A, India B, Bangladesh Women and Thailand Women begins on 16th January in Patna. The four teams will play 8 matches in the series with the final being played on 22nd January.

Thailand Women's Cricket Team
Thailand Women’s Cricket Team

The series begins with India A facing Bangladesh. The teams for the same were announced earlier this week.

India A

Manali Dakshini has been named as the captain of India A for this series.  For India A, star batswoman Priya Punia is the one to surely grab eyeballs. Also, we see other Indian internationals like wicketkeeper R Kalpana, all-rounder Bharti Fulmali and emerging talent Richa Ghosh who was recently named in the squad for the World T20 tournament in Australia.

India B

India B will be captained by off-spinner Sneh Rana and will see opener Yastika Bhatia and wicketkeeper-batter Nuzhat Parween in action. Bowlers Tanushree Sarkar, Tanuja Kanwar and other top performers from the domestic circuit will be seen.


Salma Khatun, the veteran all-rounder will be leading the Bangladesh squad in this series. In the batting department, all eyes will remain on Nigar Sultana Joty who is also the wicketkeeper of the team. Last year she became the first Bangladesh woman to score a T20I century, and also looked in fine form in the recent series against Pakistan. In the bowling department, Bangladesh will heavily rely on the spin.


2019 has been a phenomenal year for Thailand women cricket team. They shattered the glass ceiling by qualifying for the 2020 T20 World Cup. Last year it also broke the record for most consecutive wins in women’s T20 cricket with 17 successive wins. However, this magnificent run had been dented by a dearth of quality competition. This series gives them a much deserving chance to prove their mettle against top sides.

Also Read:  Summary: Match 3 - Sabbhineni Meghana and Shivali Shinde propel India B to victory against Bangladesh

Naruemol Chaiwai and Natakkan Chantham, Thailand’s top-two run-getters in T20Is, along with the experienced Nattaya Boochatham are some prominent names in the squad.


India A and B teams getting to play at the international level are efforts by the BCCI to improve bench strength for the senior team and provide domestic players much needed international exposure. This quadrangular series offers Bangladesh and Thailand team the chance to fine-tune their preparations for the World Cup. All sides are set to gain valuable match practice before the mega World T20 tournament in Australia.

Female cricket fans across the globe can expect some high octane cricketing action in the subcontinent in the next few days.

Schedule for Women T20 Quadrangular Series in Patna

16th January 2020 – 1st T20 IND A vs BAN
16th January 2020 – 2nd T20 IND B vs THA W
18th January 2020 – 3rd T20 BAN W vs IND Ba
18th January 2020 – 4th T20 IND A vs THA W
20th January 2020 – 5th T20 BAN W vs THA W
20th January 2020 – 6th T20 IND A vs IND B
22nd January 2020 – 3/4 place playoff
22nd January 2020 – Final

Cricket fanatic, Dreamer,
Eat, Sleep, Cricket, Repeat.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here