All 8 Team Final Squads for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

There is one month left for the world cup 2022 to begin. Originally scheduled for 6 February to 7 March 2021, it was postponed by a year because of the COVID-19 Pandemic. However, it was only confirmed on 5th December it will take place from 4 March to 3 April 2022 in New Zealand.

All the team qualifications were done by the Women’s ODI ranking. This was because of the postponement and eventual cancellation of the World Cup qualifier midway through the tournament due to rising COVID-19 cases.


All 8 Team Final Squads for Women's Cricket World Cup 2022
All 8 Team Final Squads for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022


So the teams that have qualified for the World Cup in New Zealand(hosts), Australia, England, India, South Africa, Bangladesh, Pakistan and West Indies.

1. India

India was the first to announce its squad on January 6th. This team was under fire and scrutiny due to the exclusion of Shikha Pandey, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Punam Raut which caused quite a stir among fans and analysts.


Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur (VC), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sneh Rana, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh Thakur, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav.

2. Bangladesh

Bangladesh Squad was announced on 28th January. Jahanara Alam was not included in the commonwealth qualifier squad due to ‘disciplinary issues’ which led her to write to BCB accusing selector Manjurul Islam of mismanagement and bias. However, the top bosses intervenes and she was included in the squad. This is also the first time Bangladesh is playing a 50 over World Cup. The squad is –

Nigar Sultana Joty (Captain), Salma Khatun, Rumana Ahmed, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Jahanara Alam, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Mst Ritu Moni, Murshida Khatun, Nahida Akter, Most. Sharmin Akter Supta, Lata Mondol, Sobhana Mostary, Mst Fariha Islam Trisna, Suraiya Azmim, Mst Shanjida Akther Maghla.

3. Pakistan

Pakistan squad was announced on 24th January. They see the return of their skipper Bismah Maroof who had taken a break from cricket to give birth and start a family. She will be making a comeback after 2 years. Two players, Kainat Imtiaz and Sadia Iqbal missed out due to injuries. The squad is-

Also Read:  Bismah Maroof and Aliya Riaz's 99 Run Partnership help Pakistan reach 190 vs Australia

Squad– Bismah Maroof (C), Nida Dar (VC), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Omaima Sohail, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.

4. Australia

The most successful team in the World Cup announced their team on January 26th. Australian World Cup squad is to be led by Meg Lanning. This team misses out on a lot of key players due to injuries. Bowler Georgia Wareham, all-rounder Sophie Molineux and fast bowler Tayla Vlaeminck, have been ruled out due to injuries.

Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (VC), Darcie Brown, Nic Carey, Ash Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

5. New Zealand

New Zealand Squad was announced on 2nd February. It is being led by Sophie Devine. This squad was the one without much surprises other than off-spinner Leigh Kasperek missing out. The Squad is-

Squad: Sophie Devine (captain, Amy Satterthwaite (vice-captain), Suzie Bates, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Amelia Kerr, Frances Mackay, Rosemary Mair, Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

6. South Africa

South Africa had the biggest shock in the world cup when their skipper Dané van Niekerk was ruled out from the world cup due to an Ankle fracture. South African team us filled with experience and players who had been in the squad for a few years. Lizelle Lee makes a comeback. It is being led by Sun Luus with Chloe Tryon as her deputy.

Also Read:  Ellyse Perry rattle Windies' top order, Stafanie Taylor survives to put 131 Runs

Squad: Sune Luus (Captain), Chloe Tryon (Vice-Captain), Ayabonga Khaka, Lara Goodall, Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Maria Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Tumi Sekhukhune.

7. West Indies

Squad: Stafanie Taylor (Captain), Anisa Mohammed (Vice-Captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Rashada Williams

Traveling reserves: Kaysia Schultz, Mandy Mangru, Jannillea Glasgow

8. England

Squad: Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Freya Davies, Charlotte Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Natasha Farrant, Amy Jones, Emma Lamb, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danielle Wyatt

Reserves: Lauren Bell, Maddy Villiers

There have been scares during this period leading up to the world cup. There was the uncertainty of the world cup taking place according to the schedule when the cases started rising in New Zealand but the Tournament CEO Andrea Nelson reassured all that it will take place as planned. This is a huge sigh of relief for all players and fans. Now with one month left the excitement and anticipation is at an all-time high.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here