Malawi Women’s National Cricket Team – Squad List, News, Latest Updates

Brief History of Malawi Women’s National Cricket Team

The Malawi women’s national cricket team represents Malawi in international women’s cricket. In April 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) granted full Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) status to all its members. Consequently, all T20 matches played between Malawi and other ICC members since 1 July 2018 have the WT20I status.

Malawi National Women's Cricket Team on
Malawi National Women’s Cricket Team on

Historical Highlights – Malawi Women’s National Cricket Team

Malawi made their WT20I debut against Namibia at the Botswana Cricket Association Oval 2, Gaborone on 20 August 2018.

In December 2020, the ICC announced the qualification pathway for the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Although Malawi was scheduled to make their debut at the ICC women’s event in the 2021 Africa regional qualifier, they were replaced by Eswatini.

Tournament Highlights

Botswana 7s Tournament 2018:

Malawi’s first WT20I matches were part of the Botswana 7s tournament, where they faced teams including Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Sierra Leone, and Zambia. Malawi finished fifth on the table with one win and four losses and won the fifth-place play-off against Lesotho by nine wickets.

2023 ACA Africa T20 Cup:

Placed in Group A alongside Uganda, Mozambique, and Rwanda; Malawi lost only one match against Uganda and finished second in the group stage, qualifying for the playoffs. In the semi final they faced Kenya and lost, leading them to the third-place play-off where Malawi played against Botswana and lost by 3 wickets, finishing fourth in the tournament.

2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier:

Malawi was placed in Group A alongside Kenya, Lesotho, and Botswana in Division Two. They secured only one victory and were unable to qualify further in the tournament.

Also Read:  Who is Nellie Gamaliyele | Bio | Stats | Malawi Player
Malawi National Women's Cricket Team on
Malawi National Women’s Cricket Team on

Squad – Myanmar Women’s National Cricket Team

Triphonia Luka
Tadala Mpandakwaya
Vanessa Phiri
Nellie Gamaliyele
Sophina Chinawa
Ketrina Chingaipe
Lidia Dimba
Sugeni Kanaji
Mercy Kudimmba
Febbe Malefula
Lucy Malino
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here