Canada Women’s National Cricket Team – Squad List, News, Latest Updates

Brief History of Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

The Canada women’s national cricket team represents Canada in international women’s cricket matches. Cricket Canada has been an associate member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) since 1968, and the women’s team made its international debut in 2006, however, is yet to qualify for any ICC global events but reached the 2013 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Canada Women's National Cricket Team
Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

Historical highlights – Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

Canada’s women’s team debuted internationally in September 2006 in a three-match series of one-day games against Bermuda to determine which team would represent the Americas region in the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Ireland in 2007. Canada won the first game by five wickets but lost the second game by 24 runs. The deciding third game was a close contest, with Bermuda winning by just three runs.

In 2007, Canada won the inaugural ICC Americas Championship held in Toronto, Ontario, recording victories over Argentina and Bermuda and playing an exhibition game against Trinidad and Tobago under-17s. Canada successfully defended the ICC Americas Championship in 2009 in Florida, United States, with wins in the T20 portion of the competition over Argentina and Bermuda, and a victory over the United States, with a washout against Argentina leaving them atop the points table.

In 2010, a regional qualifier was held in Toronto between Canada and the United States, with Canada losing all three 50-over matches, resulting in the United States qualifying for the World Cup qualifier held in Bangladesh in 2011. However, Canada won both T20 games held after the qualifier.

Also Read:  Who is Danielle McGahey | Bio | Stats | Canada Player

In 2012, the ICC Americas T20 Women’s Championship was held in the Cayman Islands, where Canada registered wins over Brazil, Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, and Argentina. The final match against the United States was a washout, resulting in Canada winning the tournament with a superior net run rate.

In April 2018, the ICC granted full Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) status to all its members, meaning all Twenty20 matches played between Canada women and another international side since 1 July 2018 have had full WT20I status. Canada debuted in this format against the United States at Central Broward Stadium, Lauderhill, on 17 May 2019.

Canada Women's National Cricket Team
Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

Tournament Highlights – Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier:

In 2019, Canada competed against the United States in three matches but lost all of them, failing to qualify for the tournament. In 2021, with two more teams added to the competition, Canada lost to Brazil and the United States but won one match. In 2023, Canada only lost to the United States, finishing second and narrowly missing qualification for the global qualifiers.

Squad – Canada Women’s National Cricket Team

Divya Saxena
Achini Perera
Danielle McGahey
Amarpal Kaur
Rhea Misra
Saniyah Zia
Kainat Qazi
Habeeba Bader
Nicole Gallagher
Krima Kapadia
Rabbjyot Rajput
Sana Zafar
Vijayani Vithanage
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here