Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy win big at ICC Cricket Awards 2019

Australian women cricketers Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy walked away with the end of the year prizes at ICC Cricket Awards. Perry won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year as well as the ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year. Healy bagged the ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year.

Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry
Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry. Pic Credits – foxsports.com.au

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the list of winners and the official teams of the year on Tuesday, December 17.

The prestigious Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award was won by Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry who had an amazing cricketing year. In 2019, she played 12 ODIs and hit 441 runs averaging 73.50 with the bat as well as scalping 21 wickets at 13.52. Against England she also obtained a 7-wicket haul making a national record. Her brilliant form throughout ensured that she also walks away with the ODI Cricketer of the Year award.

It is the second time in three years that the all-rounder has won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award, having also won the same in 2017. Perry also became the first cricketer in history to complete the double of 1000 runs and 100 wickets in T20I cricket.

The T20I Cricketer of the Year award was won by Alyssa Healy second time in a row and her current form clearly shows her dominance in the shortest format of the game.

In October, Healy made the world record of the highest score in Women’s Twenty20 Internationals when she made 148* off 61 balls against Sri Lanka at home. It was her maiden century and it came in only 46 balls which is the fastest for any Australian cricketer- man or woman.

Also Read:  Ellyse Perry starts World Cup campaign with a century

The Emerging Cricketer of the Year award was won by Thailand’s Chanida Sutthiruang. Thailand Women made history by becoming the first cricket team of the country to qualify for any cricket world cup. They qualified for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup to be held in Australia next year.

Sutthiruang played an important role in Thailand’s successful campaign in the Qualifier. The pacer took 12 wickets throughout the tournament, giving only 68 runs. She also returned with the figures of 3/5 against the Netherlands in the Qualifier.

ICC also released the official ODI and T20I teams of the year. Australia skipper Meg Lanning was named as the captain of both the teams. The Australian women’s team has enjoyed huge success in 2019. The Australian team also won the Women’s Ashes held in England this year. The Southern Stars are currently ranked number 1 in both the formats and are clearly dominating world cricket. They will be hoping to defend their World T20 title infront of a home crowd next year.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year:

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
2. Smriti Mandhana – India
3. Tamsin Beaumont – England
4. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
5. Stafanie Taylor – West Indies
6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
7. Jess Jonassen – Australia
8. Shikha Pandey – India
9. Jhulan Goswami – India
10. Megan Schutt – Australia
11. Poonam Yadav – India

Also Read:  ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier 2018 schedule announced

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
2. Danielle Wyatt – England
3. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
4. Smriti Mandhana – India
5. Lizelle Lee – South Africa
6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
7. Deepti Sharma – India
8. Nida Dar – Pakistan
9. Megan Schutt – Australia
10. Shabnim Ismail – South Africa
11. Radha Yadav – India

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year-
Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year-
Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year-
Alyssa Healy (Australia)

ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year-
Chanida Sutthiruang (Thailand)

(Source: ICC)

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here