ECB announces players for 2019-20 England Women’s Academy and Training Squad

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced the list of players who are selected for the England Women’s Academy (EWA) for 2019-20 batch. They also confirmed the players who have made it to the Training Squad and Spin Bowling Group.

Lauren Bell - EWA
Lauren Bell – EWA 2018-19 (Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

A total of 29 players will be part of this programme and will be trained in the next 12 months. 11 players have made to England Women’s 2019/20 Academy out of which 3 are from Hampshire – Maia Bouchier, Charlie Dean and Lucia Kendall. Alice Capsey and Amy Gordon have made from Surrey while Freya Kamp and Ella McCaughan are selected from Sussex. Lauren Bell (Berkshire), Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire), Danielle Gibson (Wales) and Issy Wong (Warwickshire) are the other players.

EWA provides support to the players and prepares them for their possible transition to the senior squad in the future. Apart from EWA, 12 cricketers are selected for the Training Squad. This year a Spin Bowling Group has been added to the programme under which 6 spin bowlers will hone their spin bowling skills.

As reported by ECB, the Head Coach of the England Women’s Academy, John Stanworth said that they are looking forward to working with the selected players. “It is an exciting group of players and we look forward to seeing them progress through the different experiences they will be exposed to both here and abroad”, Stanworth said.

The Training Squad and Spin Bowling Group will train the players who have the potential to make to the EWA in the future. Here are the complete lists of players who will avail facilities under the 3 programmes –

Also Read:  The Best Sixes You Can Own on Rario

England Women’s Academy:
Lauren Bell (Berkshire)
Maia Bouchier (Hampshire)
Alice Capsey (Surrey)
Charlie Dean (Hampshire)
Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire)
Danielle Gibson (Wales)
Amy Gordon (Surrey)
Freya Kemp (Sussex)
Lucia Kendall (Hampshire)
Ella McCaughan (Sussex)
Issy Wong (Warwickshire)

Training Squad:
Alex Avoth (Hampshire)
Grace Ballinger (Warwickshire)
Chloe Brewer (Surrey)
Ria Fackrell (Warwickshire)
Lauren Filer (Somerset)
Alex Griffiths (Wales)
Sophie Munro (Nottinghamshire)
Sonali Patel (Middlesex)
Grace Scrivens (Kent)
Deeksha Sharma (Surrey)
Olivia Thomas (Lancashire)
Natasha Wraith (Somerset)

Spin Bowling Group:
Hannah Baker (Worcestershire)
Helen Fenby (Durham)
Bethan Miles (Buckinghamshire)
Ellie Mitchell (Somerset)
Ilenia Sims (Staffordshire)
Sophia Smale (Wales)

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here