The inaugural season of the Bengal Pro T20 League is scheduled to commence in June

The cricketing arena of West Bengal is about to witness a revolutionary evolution with the announcement of the inaugural season of the Bengal Pro T20 League, scheduled to commence in June 2024. The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), promises to be a game-changer, featuring eight franchise teams comprising both men’s and women’s teams.

The inaugural season of the Bengal Pro T20 League is scheduled to commence in June
The inaugural season of the Bengal Pro T20 League is scheduled to commence in June

The CAB President Snehahish Ganguly shared that the Bengal Pro T20 League has been in discussion for quite some time. Following meticulous planning and securing the necessary approvals from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the stage is now set for West Bengal’s franchise-based cricket extravaganza. Ganguly expressed his enthusiasm during the official announcement at the iconic Eden Gardens.

He stated, “We have been planning to organize the Franchise-based League for some time now. After doing a very careful study of similar Leagues in India and abroad, we are now ready to organize the Bengal Pro T20 League this year.”

With a vision to foster local talent and provide them with a platform to shine on a professional stage, Ganguly emphasized the league’s commitment to offering unparalleled exposure to budding cricketers across West Bengal.

In a bid to ensure inclusivity and regional representation, the franchise teams will be named after cities or districts of West Bengal, aiming to engage fans from every corner of the state.

The participation of esteemed business houses as team owners highlights the growing appeal and commercial viability of the Bengal Pro T20 League. The CAB aims to finalize team ownership slots by mid-month and extend invitations to potential sponsors and partners to join.

Also Read:  Richa Ghosh is grateful and overwhelmed after her selection in the T20 world cup squad for India

The player recruitment process will be characterized by a comprehensive draft system, enabling each franchise to assemble a formidable squad comprising 17 players for the men’s category and 16 for the women’s division. This approach ensures that a total of 264 players will have the opportunity to showcase their skills during the tournament.

Adhering to the highest standards of integrity and professionalism, the CAB will implement a Code of Conduct aligned with international cricketing protocols, with strict monitoring by the Anti-Corruption Unit of the BCCI. Additionally, all teams and support staff will be accommodated in premium accommodations throughout the tournament duration.

The Bengal Pro T20 League will adopt a league-and-knockout format, featuring 31 games for each men’s and women’s team. Matches will be held at distinguished venues, women’s games at the Jadavpur University Salt Lake Campus Ground.

In a move to foster fan engagement and accessibility, entry to both men’s and women’s matches will be free of charge, ensuring that cricket enthusiasts from all walks of life can partake in the excitement firsthand.

Furthermore, the CAB plans to extend invitations to scouts from IPL teams, providing them with an opportunity to explore potential talent emerging from the Bengal Pro T20 League, thereby amplifying the league’s significance on the national cricketing stage.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here