Squad and Dates announced for Ireland’s Women’s Super Series 2023

Cricket Ireland has announced the fixtures and squads for the Women’s Super Series, the premier domestic women’s cricket competition in Ireland. The tournament will feature three representative teams, the Dragons, Scorchers, and Typhoons, who will compete for the Super 50 Cup and the Super T20 Trophy in the 50-over and 20-over competitions, respectively.

Squad and Dates announced for Ireland's Women's Super Series 2023. PC: ICC / Twitter
Squad and Dates announced for Ireland’s Women’s Super Series 2023. PC: ICC / Twitter


This year’s edition of the tournament will feature five matches played in Northern Ireland, as Cricket Ireland continues its efforts to grow the profile and accessibility of the women’s game in the North. The Dragons, Scorchers, and Typhoons will be captained by Irish internationals Rebecca Stokell, Gaby Lewis, and Leah Paul, respectively.

The Dragons and Typhoons will be coached by James Cameron-Dow and Paul Davidge, respectively, while the Scorchers will have a new head coach for 2023 after Glenn Querl moved to a full-time role with the Ireland Women’s senior and pathway set-up. The announcement of the new coach will be made shortly.

The Scorchers squad will be led by captain Gaby Lewis, who said that preparations for the tournament have been going well. She praised the new players coming through and emphasized the competitiveness of the Super Series, saying that the team will be “there to be shot at” as back-to-back double-winners. The Scorcher’s captain is Gaby Lewis, and their squad includes Aimee Maguire, Anna Kerrison, Annabel Squires, Christina Coulter Reilly, Ellie McGee, Genevieve Morrissey, Hannah Little, Isabelle McLean, Jane Maguire, Jenny Sparrow, Julie McNally, Lara Maritz, Niamh MacNulty, Shauna Kavanagh (WK), Siúin Woods, and Sophie MacMahon.

Meanwhile, Dragons head coach James Cameron-Dow said that he is looking forward to the season and hopes to build on some of the team’s achievements from last year. He acknowledged that it will be difficult to set expectations and targets for the tournament due to the nature of the competition and the availability of players, but said that the team will focus on playing good cricket and ticking the right boxes.

The Dragon’s captain is Leah Paul, and their squad includes Abbi Harrison, Alana Dalzell, Amy Caulfield, Amy Hunter (WK), Aoife Fisher, Arlene Kelly, Cara Murray, Jemma Gillan, Jenni Jackson, Jess Mayes, Kate McEvoy, Kia McCartney, Mollie Devine, Orla Prendergast, and Zara Craig. The Typhoon’s captain has not been announced yet, but their squad includes Amy Hunter, Celeste Raack, Emma McMurray, Freya Sargent, Georgina Dempsey, Jane Maguire, Jennifer Hanna, Lara Maritz, Louise Little, Mary Waldron (WK), Naomi Matthews, Rachel Delaney, Rebecca Stokell, Sarah Forbes, Sophie MacMahon, and Una Raymond-Hoey.

Also Read:  Have you Tried Your Luck in Cricket Lotto?

Overall, the Women’s Super Series promises to be an exciting and competitive tournament, featuring some of Ireland’s best women cricketers and a number of talented overseas players.

Squad: Women’s Super Series


Gaby Lewis (capt) (YMCA), Aimee Maguire (The Hills), Anna Kerrison (Pembroke), Annabel Squires (Merrion), Christina Coulter Reilly (Clontarf), Ellie McGee (Rush), Genevieve Morrissey (Clontarf), Hannah Little (Pembroke), Isabelle McLean (Balbriggan), Jane Maguire (The Hills), Jenny Sparrow (Leinster), Julie McNally (Clontarf), Lara Maritz (Balbriggan), Niamh MacNulty (Merrion), Shauna Kavanagh (WK) (Pembroke), Siúin Woods (YMCA), Sophie MacMahon (Leinster).


Leah Paul (capt) (Merrion), Abbi Harrison (Waringstown), Alana Dalzell (Bready), Amy Caulfield (Muckamore), Amy Hunter (WK) (Malahide/Instonians), Aoife Fisher (CSNI), Arlene Kelly (Malahide), Cara Murray (Saintfield/Waringstown/Clontarf), Jemma Gillan (CSNI), Jenni Jackson (Eginton), Jess Mayes (CSNI), Kate McEvoy (YMCA), Kia McCartney (Coleraine), Mollie Devine (Fox Lodge), Orla Prendergast (Pembroke), Zara Craig (Eglinton).


Rebecca Stokell (capt) (Merrion), Alice Tector (YMCA), Alice Walsh (Clontarf), Ava Canning (Leinster), Celeste Raack (Merrion), Freya Sargent (Clontarf), Georgina Dempsey (YMCA), Jane Butterly (Rush), Joanna Loughran (Leinster), Lara McBride (The Hills), Laura Delany (Leinster), Louise Little (Pembroke), Mary Waldron (WK) (Pembroke), Rebecca Gough (The Hills), Sarah Forbes (YMCA), Sinead Thompson (Clontarf).

Sports have always been a huge part of my life, and having played cricket professionally for my state team, I gained a deeper understanding of what it takes to succeed in the world of sports. With an eye for detail and passion for sports, I’m hoping to make a lasting impact in the sports industry.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here