4 Indians Included in ICC Women’s T20I Team of Year 2022

The opening day of the 18th edition of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards on the 23rd of January saw the ICC reveal the Women’s Twenty20 International (T20I) Team of the Year. The ICC T20I 11 is led by Sophie Devine and has the highest count of Indians (4) featuring Richa Ghosh, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, and Renuka Singh Thakur all making the cut following their match-winning outings in 2022.


Smriti Mandhana. PC: Getty Images
Smriti Mandhana. PC: Getty Images

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2022

Smriti Mandhana (India)
Beth Mooney (Australia)
Sophie Devine (C) (New Zealand)
Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)
Tahlia McGrath (Australia)
Nida Dar (Pakistan)
Deepti Sharma (India)
Richa Ghosh (WK) (India)
Sophie Ecclestone (England)
Inoka Ranaweera (Sri Lanka)
Renuka Singh (India)

The opening pair of the ICC Women’s T20I XI sees left-handers, Smriti Mandhana and Beth Mooney. India’s Smriti Mandhana had a dominant year with the bat, as she in 21 innings scored 594 runs at an average of 33.00, a strike-rate of 133.48, and also has 5 half-centuries to her name in the year alone, Australia’s Beth Mooney too had a flourishing time with the bat, especially during the Commonwealth Games. Beth Mooney in 13 T20I innings in 2022 scored 449 runs at an average of 56.12, a strike rate of 134.43, and registered the highest of 89* for the year.

The middle-order trio sees New Zealand’s Sophie Devine and the Australian duo of Tahlia McGrath and Ash Gardner feature.

Also Read:  Who is Nida Dar | Bio | Stats | Pakistan Player

The ICC Women’s T20I XI skipper, Devine with 389 runs and 13 wickets during the year, was a class above all. Ashleigh Gardner for her heroics during the away India series walks into the team. In 7 innings, with over 200 runs including 2 half-centuries, she’s got a strike rate of 152.11, and an average of 72. Pace all-arounder, McGrath, in 11 innings scored 435 runs in 2022, at a strike rate of 145.0 and has 4 half-centuries to her name. With the ball, she bagged 13 wickets and had the best figures of 3/26.

Lower-middle order sees Pakistan’s Nida Dar and India’s duo of Deepti Sharma and keeper-batter, Richa Ghosh feature.

Nida Dar with the bat in 13 innings, scored 396 runs at an average of 56.57, a strike rate of 122.60, and with the ball bagged 15 wickets at an average of 18.33, and at an economy rate of 5.50 in T20Is in 2022. Deepti Sharma bagged 29 wickets at averaging 18.55, and with the bat scored 370 runs at an average of 37, and a strike rate of 136.02. Richa, in 18 matches, got to 259 runs, at a strike rate of over 150 having smashed as many as 13 maximums.

The tailenders trio sees England’s Sophie Ecclestone, Sri Lanka’s Inoka Ranaweera, and India’s Renuka Singh Thakur.

Also Read:  Meet Humaira Farrukh: Pakistan's first-ever female cricket umpire

World no. 1, Sophie Ecclestone, in the year, bagged 19 wickets in 17 T20Is and also consistently chipped in with runs. Inoka finished with 27 wickets in 19 T20Is, at an average of 13.85 and an economy rate of 5.75. India’s pave sensation, Renuka was a standout for the side with consistent performances. She bagged 22 T20I wickets at an average of 23.95 and an economy rate of 6.50 in 22 innings.

In-store during ICC Awards tomorrow for Women’s is the ICC Women’s One-Day International (ODI) team of the year reveal.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here