How is India U19 team preparing for Women’s World Cup 2023?

The first-ever International Cricket Council (ICC) Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place early next year in South Africa from the 14th to the 29th of January. The tournament is set to see a total of 16 teams compete of which 12 gained direct qualifications and the other 4 have come through a qualification process.

U19 World Cup Trophy
U19 World Cup Trophy. PC: Getty Images


The 12 nations who’ve gained direct qualification are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa (hosts), Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and the United States. The 4 nations who’ve joined the 12 are United Arab Emirates (UAE) from the 6-team Asia qualifier, Indonesia from the bilateral East Asia Pacific (EAP) qualifier, Scotland from the bilateral Europe qualifier and Rwanda from the 9-team contested, Africa qualifier.

The Broad of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a packed schedule for the India U-19 women’s sides in the lead-up to the mega ICC event. Apart from the recently concluded, domestic, T20 Trophy there also is a 4-team domestic T20 Challenger Trophy to follow. A bunch of players are then scheduled to play a U-19 Quadrangular series featuring India A, India B, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.

U-19 Women’s T20 Quadrangular Series Schedule :

India A vs West Indies
India B vs Sri Lanka
West Indies vs Sri Lanka
India A vs India B
India A vs Sri Lanka
India B vs West Indies
19-Nov-2022 Finals

The India U-19 women’s side in their final series are scheduled to play a bilateral series against New Zealand U-19 and the schedule for the same is attached below.

Also Read:  Smriti Mandhana and Jemimah Rodrigues and Kaur in Top 10 batters of Latest ICC Women’s T20 Rankings

U-19 Women’s India vs New Zealand T20 Series Schedule :

27-Nov-2022 1st T20
29-Nov-2022 2nd T20
01-Dec-2022 3rd T20
04-Dec-2022 4th T20
06-Dec-2022 5th T20

The inaugural edition of the historic U19 Women’s T20 World Cup that’ll take place in Benoni and Potchefstroom in South Africa early next year now sees its scheduled revealed by the ICC which sees 41 matches on the schedule that’ll be played across 15 days.

The 16 teams constituting 11 full ICC members and 5 associate teams have been split into four groups. The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six League stage, where teams from Group A will play against Group D and Group B will compete against Group C.

India placed in group D are scheduled to play South Africa, Scotland and the United Arab Emirates in the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup tournament.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here