Women’s National Cricket league NSW Breakers announces new squad

Reigning Women’s National Cricket League champions NSW Breakers will field a new-look line-up this summer following the departure of Australian stars Ellyse Perry and Nicola Carey.

The 20-time WNCL champions, who claimed a third-straight domestic 50-over title last summer, have bid farewell to six members of their title-winning side, with young quick Belinda Vakarewa, leg-spinner Maisy Gibson, Mikayla Hinkley and Carly Leeson also moving interstate.

The new squad is as follows:

Alyssa Healy (c), Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle, Maddy Darke, Rene Farrell, Ashleigh Gardner, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Saskia Horley, Phoebe Litchfield, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenaman, Tahlia Wilson

The Breakers will field three Australian-contracted players this summer, with captain Alyssa Healy joined by Australian vice-captain Rachael Haynes and allrounder Ashleigh Gardner. Cricket NSW General Manager of Cricket Performance David Moore said, “It’s a great opportunity for us to have (Burns) as a Breaker at last.” “(There’s) some really highly experienced players that we can call on to ensure that we perform well at that level”, he added.

Also Read:  Queen Mathilde and King Philippe visited Mumbai cricket ground on royal tour

Liked the story? Leave a comment here