Odisha Cricket Association to organise Women’s League from January 15

The Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) announced that it will be organizing the Women’s cricket League from 15th January onwards. Six teams Odisha Green, Odisha Violet, Odisha Purple, Odisha Red, Odisha Yellow, Odisha Orange have been created.


Odisha Cricket Association
Odisha Cricket Association. Source – OCB


The matches will be played in both T20 as well as one-day format as this will help the BCCI pick teams for the domestic season which is speculated to start in February or March. The games will be played in a round-robin league format.

A total of 90 players have been selected of which 54 are those who have represented Odisha at senior and junior level and 36 players have been scouted from the women’s talent hunt program.

Keeping the pandemic in mind, a bio-bubble will be set up and the OCA will be adhering to all the regulations. the players will be accommodated in the KIIT campus in Bhubaneswar where the matches will be played across a number of venues. The OCA has also deputed 24 match officials who, along with the players, will be subjected to the RTPCR test for COVID-19.

Apart from the tournament, a Women’s Cricket Exhibition match will also be conducted between Odisha Pink and Odisha Blue on 13th January with Madhuri Mehta and Madhusmita Behera being the captains of the two teams. The match which is scheduled at 11:30 am will be live-streamed on Fancode.

For the latest updates and trending news on women’s cricket, follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Board President’s XI squad for two warm-up games against South Africa Women announced
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here