All you need to know about the New 5 Member Women’s Selection Committee

BCCI, on Saturday 26th September, announced a five-member women’s selection committee, to be headed by Neetu David, replacing the Hemlata Kala-led selection committee. The former Indian spin legend, Neetu David, will be joined by Venkatacher Kalpana, Arati Vaidya, Renu Margrate, and Mithu Mukherjee.


Neetu David. PC: Getty Images
Neetu David. PC: Getty Images


The outgoing committee had been given an extension, and their last assignment was to select India’s team for this year’s T20 World Cup. We take a look at the career of the members of the newly-appointed selection committee.

Neetu David 

The committee will be headed by Neetu David, on account of her seniority. A legend of Indian cricket, David played 10 Tests and 97 ODI’s in the late 90s and early years of the millennium. The spinner has an international record, which hasn’t been broken for 25 years now. She has the best figures in an innings of Test cricket when she claimed 8/53 against the mighty English. Along with this, she was the first Indian to take 100 wickets in ODI cricket, and is currently the second-highest wicket-taker for India in ODI’s, with 141 wickets.

Venkatacher Kalpana 

Born in Karnataka, the wicketkeeper-batsman played 3 Tests and 8 ODI’s for India. Kalpana made her debut in Test Cricket against the English way back in 1986, just a decade after the Indian team played its’ first Test. She holds the joint record for most dismissals by a keeper in Women’s World Cup cricket (6) with New Zealand’s Sarah Illingworth. Kalpana has also coached several domestic cricket teams and has trained UAE Women’s Cricket Team as well.

Also Read:  Japan Women’s Cricket joins hands with Tech-Mahindra and Mitsui Knowledge Industry

Arati Vaidya 

Hailing from Pune in Maharashtra, Vaidya made her Test and ODI debut in February of 1995. In her brief career, she played 3 Tests and 6 ODI’s for India, with the highest score of 77 in WODI’s. Praised for her wit and understanding of the game, Vaidya is an excellent selection in the committee.

Renu Margrate

Arati Vaidya’s former teammate, Renu Margrate, will be joining her in the selection committee. They were teammates from the beginning of their career, making their debut in the same Test against New Zealand. The fast bowler went on to represent India in 4 Test’s and 23 ODI’s.

Mithu Mukherjee 

The Bengal all-rounder rounds up the selection panel and is renowned for her exploits in the longest format of the game. Mukherjee only represented India in the longest format and wore the whites of India in 4 matches. Her career spanning a decade kickstarted with her debut against New Zealand in 1991.

Sanstab Das

Your average cricket enthusiast. Loves to write about what he loves to watch.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here