Cricket South Africa announces 14-member squad for home series against Australia

After South Africa’s first-ever semi-final appearance in World T20 last week, Cricket South Africa (CSA) wants to carry the momentum garnered during the World Cup to bring out the best in Proteas’ women’s cricket.


South Africa Women's Cricket team
South Africa Women’s Cricket team. Pic Credits: ICC

In the process, on March 11, CSA announced a 14-member squad for the three-match ODI series against Australia that will be played in South Africa.

Hilton Moreeng’s Momentum Proteas side will take on five-time World T20 champions. The campaign kicks off on March 22, with the much-anticipated marquee Proteas Women Black Day event. This ODI series will be the ultimate round of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-21) for both the teams. Australia, with an unassailable lead in the competition, were crowned ICC Women’s Champions just prior to the start of the ICC Women’s World T20.

The Momentum Proteas will play 50-over cricket for the first time since their historic away series victory to New Zealand in January where they whitewashed the White Ferns 3-0.

The South African team remains unchanged from the squad that played the recently concluded World T20, with the only exclusion of KwaZulu-Natal Coastal all-rounder Nondumiso Shangase.

Skipper Dane van Niekerk, who led the side wonderfully during the T20 World Cup will look to marshal her troops well keeping in mind the ICC Women’s ODI rankings. Niekerk and co. have just three ODIs in hand.


South Africa Women's Cricket team claim Historic Win
South Africa Women’s Cricket team claim Historic Win. Pic Credits: ICC


The first two ODIs will be played at City Oval, Pietermaritzburg and the final one at Buffalo Park, East London.

With respect to the squad composition, convener of Selectors Clinton du Preez said, “This squad was selected with an eye on the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand. As much as we want to expand the pool of players who can perform successfully for South Africa, it is important that we keep the momentum and continue performing well against the very best in world cricket while also helping the team to peak for major tournaments.”

Momentum Proteas ODI squad: Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Lizelle Lee (North West), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Suné Luus (Northerns), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Shabnim Ismail (KZN Coastal), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Trisha Chetty (KZN Coastal), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Western Province)

Also Read:  Summary: Match 11 - Simp “Lee” superb South Africa thrashes Thailand by 113 runs

Management: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Salieg Nackerdien (Assistant Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Manager), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Russell Clarke (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Tshegofatso Gaetsewe (Team Doctor), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Koketso Gaofetoge (Media Manager)

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here