All you need to know about 2018 women’s Tri-Nation Series in England

South Africa Women, New Zealand Women (White Ferns) and hosts England Women are going to play a T-20 tri-series from 20th June 2018 to 1st July 2018 in England. While South African team is already in England as they have just finished a three match ODI series against England, New Zealand team will travel down to England after their one-sided ODI series win against Ireland in their last assignment.

All you need to know about 2018 women's Tri-Nation Series in England

Proteas opener Lizelle Lee’s brilliant knock ensured win for her team in the first ODI of the 3-match ICC Women’s Championship Series against England. But England women fought back strongly and went on to win the next two games, win series and collected four (4) points for their team. Sarah Taylor (Player of the Match in the 2nd match), Tammy Beaumont (Player of the Match in the 3rd match) and Heather Knight scripted their team’s win by consistently playing phenomenal knocks. For South Africa, D Van Niekerk performed very well throughout the series.

New Zealand Women, on the other hand, completely dominated over their opponents (Ireland) in an other three match ODI series. The former team made 400+ runs in all the three games and 490/4 in the first game being the highest ever ODI total of a team in cricket (both men and women). So much so was the level of dominance that all the six players of NZ team had strike rate of over 100 in that particular game with Captain Suzie Bates and ML Green hitting centuries. LM Kasperek demolished Ireland’s batting line-up and ended up taking four (4) by conceding just 17 runs. Another thumping record was made in the third match by 17-year-old sensational all-rounder AC Kerr who made 232 on just 145 balls and took 5 wicket haul by giving away just 17 runs in her 7 overs. She was deservingly given the Player of the match award also.

The ICC’s Team rankings of these teams in Women’s ODI is as follows –
England – 2nd
New Zealand – 3rd
South Africa – 6th

Following are the team squads for the tri-series :-

Also Read:  Match 2: Guyana Amazon Warriors v Trinbago Knight Riders | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI | Live streaming

New Zealand Women – Suzie Bates (c), Amy Satterthwaite (vc), Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wk), Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin (wk), Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin.

England Women and South Africa Women have not yet declared their respective team squads. But it is expected that they will carry on with the same squad as that of ODI series.

The schedule of the series is:-
Match 1 : South Africa Women Vs New Zealand Women on 20th June
Match 2 : England Women Vs South Africa Women on 20th June
Match 3 : England Women Vs South Africa Women on 23rd June
Match 4 : England Women Vs New Zealand Women on 23rd June
Match 5 : South Africa Women Vs New Zealand Women on 28th June
Match 6 : England Women Vs New Zealand Women on 28th June
Final : 1st July 2018

Good thing is that these matches will be televised in England and South Africa. In India, you can follow over-by-over text commentary on the ESPN and Cricbuzz website or app. Also stay tuned on our Twitter page for latest match news and updates. 

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here