List of 23 overseas players in Women’s Big Bash League 2022

The 8th edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) is scheduled to get underway on the 13th of October with Brisbane Heat hosting Sydney Sixers at the Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay and the group stage games are set to run till the 20th of November, with the final scheduled for the 27th of November.


List of 23 overseas players in Women's Big Bash League 2022
List of 23 overseas players in Women’s Big Bash League 2022


The world’s biggest league for women’s cricket, the Big Bash this time around has got an overseas pool of 23 players and below we’ll have a quick run through the same.

New Zealand Players

A bunch of 6 New Zealand international cricketers are locked in which first on the list sees New Zealand and defending champions, Perth Scorchers skipper, Sophie Devine who’s retained by the side and in the same club, she’ll be joined by Maddy Green. Kerr sisters, Amelia and Jess are roped in by the Brisbane Heat, where the latter is in as an international replacement. Issy Wong’s replacement, Hayley Jensen will be joining the team in Purple, Hobart Hurricanes and lastly, the veteran, Suzie Bates has made it to the Sydney Sixers.

England Players

Half a dozen of English too have made it to the Bash which sees the world no.1 ranked T20I bowler, Sophie Ecclestone on her maiden Bash journey joining the Sydney Sixers and experienced power-hitter, Danni Wyatt with the Brisbane Heat. Melbourne Stars have roped in youth sensation, Alice Capsey, and Lauren Winfield-Hill, while the Sydney Thunder have got Amy Jones and Tammy Beaumont in the mix.

South African Players

Equalling the count of English and New Zealanders, there are 6 South Africans in the mix for the upcoming edition of the Bash. A core member from the title-winning Perth Scorchers side, Marizanne Kapp was retained by the side and elegant stroke player, Laura Wolvaardt is set to don the blue of Adelaide Strikers, while speedster, Shabnim Ismail is locked in with the Melbourne Renegades. Hard-hitter, Chloe Tryon has moved clubs to Sydney Thunder and her former club, Hobart Hurricanes, has roped in the experienced superstars, Mignon du Preez and Lizelle Lee.

Also Read:  Twitter Reactions to Amelia Kerr's 232 ODI batting world record

India Players

India with a count of 3 players at the Bash see, all-format skipper, Harmanpreet Kaur, retained by her side, Melbourne Renegades and mature-hitter, Jemimah Rodrigues, with the Sydney Thunder. Making a first-time appearance in the Bash is bankable all-rounder, Pooja Vastrakar who’ll be joining the Brisbane Heat.

West Indies Players

Two great mates from the West Indies, former player Deandra Dottin and newly-appointed skipper, Hayley Matthews will be donning the colours of Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades respectively in the soon-to-start 08 edition of the Women’s Big Bash League.

The tournament is scheduled to be played in its pre-Covid format i.e, games are scheduled to be played nationwide in the home and away round-robin format. The upcoming, 08 edition also sees the introduction of the DRS, but only for the 24 matches that’ll be produced by Seven and Foxtel, including the final.

The Bash is set to grab more eyeballs this time around as the Power Surge too is set to make its debut after a successful run in the men’s edition. The Surge reduces the regular 6-over powerplay to 4 and the remaining 2 overs of the powerplay can be activated as Surge anywhere between the 11th to the 20th overs.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here