Match 3: Tahlia McGrath’s All-Round Show ensures 30 Run Victory for Adelaide Strikers

The third match of the seventh edition of Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) was played between Adelaide Strikers and Sydney Thunder at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart on Saturday. Sydney Thunder won the toss and elected to bowl first.


Tahlia Mcgrath for Adelaide Strikers. PC: 7Cricket/Twitter
Tahlia Mcgrath for Adelaide Strikers. PC: 7Cricket/Twitter


1st Innings: Adelaide Strikers: 140/7 (20)

Batting first, Adelaide Strikers posted a competitive total of 140-7 in 20 overs. Middle order bat and Adelaide Strikers skipper Tahlia McGrath top scored with 42 runs off 34 balls, including four boundaries. Despite losing the top order cheaply, McGrath and co. fought hard to post a healthy score on board. McGrath stitched a 69-run partnership with Madeline Penna. Penna went on to score 35 runs off 37 balls, hitting four boundaries. For Sydney Thunder, Sammy-Jo Johnson and Lauren Smith picked up couple of wickets apiece. Samantha Bates, Deepti Sharma and skipper Hannah Darlington accounted for one wicket each.

2nd Innings: Sydney Thunder: 110/10 (19.2)

In reply, Sydney Thunder could only manage to score 110 as they bundled out in 19.2 overs, losing the match by 30 runs. Only three out of the 11 batters were able to score in double digits. Corinne Hall (38), Anika Learoyd (23) and Phoebe Litchfield (16) fought hard but their efforts went in vain as they did not receive much support from the others. Star batters like Smriti Mandhana and Sammy-Jo Johnson had an off day as the opening pair departed after scoring just four runs apiece. For Adelaide Strikers, it was skipper McGrath, who led the bowling picking up 3-17 in her four overs. Amanda Wellington and Sarah Coyte picked up two wickets each, while Darcie Brown and Jemma Barsby scalped one wicket each.

Also Read:  Amelia Kerr puts her mental health first, withdraws from WBBL

Player of the Match

Adelaide Strikers’ Tahlia McGrath won the player of the match award for her stellar performance with both bat (42 runs off 34 balls) and ball (3-17 in 4 overs).

Next Match

Adelaide Strikes will play their next match against Melbourne Renegades on October 20 at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, while Sydney Thunder will take on Sydney Sixers on October 23 at the Aurora Stadium in Launceston.

Brief Score:

Adelaide Strikers 140-7 in 20 overs (T McGrath 42; SJ Johnson 2-22) beat Sydney Thunder 110 all out in 19.2 overs (C Hall 38; T McGrath 3-17) by 30 runs

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here