Stadiums to open up for spectators for the Seventh Season of WBBL starting October 14

Fans all around Australia will now get to cheer their favorite WBBL team while sitting in the stadium as stadiums are all set to reopen and welcome the fans with open arms.


Fans will be allowed at stadium to watch WBBL 2021. PC:
Fans will be allowed at stadium to watch WBBL 2021. PC:


The last WBBL season was played in a secure bio-bubble at Sydney with no spectators allowed due to the rising COVID-19 situation all around the world. But now the borders have opened and the teams will travel across all six states.

The schedule is our and the WBBL|07 will commence from October 14 at North Sydney Oval. The venue will host a super exciting opening weekend featuring all eight teams. The season will start just 3 days after the India tour of Australia’s last match, which will be played at the same venue as the WBBL season opener on October 11.

Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, and Hobart are also set to host festivals, while Brisbane Heat will host their festival at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast due to the redevelopment of Brisbane’s stadium.

With the good news of opening borders, a bad too came along. It is very likely that England players will not be able to take part in this season of WBBL as their limited-overs tour of Pakistan will run till the 22nd of October.

Also Read:  Stafanie Taylor and Suzie Bates backs T20I for improving women's cricket

Due to Australia’s strict quarantine protocols and the proximity of the Ashes due in January, the clubs that have signed English cricketers will have to look elsewhere for their replacement. Indian players could be the potential replacement.

This season could see a possible return of Indian players in WBBL. The last time Indian players played in the WBBL was in the fourth season. This means probably Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, and Jemimah Rodrigues could be a part of a WBBL squad. The advantage of taking on an Indian player on board is that they will already be in Australia due to their multi-series tour ending on October 11.

Source: Cricket Australia

Liked the story? Leave a comment here