Women’s Big Bash League Team of the tournament announced

On November 24, the Women’s Big Bash League season 6 team of the tournament was announced. The team features players from five of the eight WBBL clubs. The side, led by Meg Lanning, has no more than three internationals as per the WBBL playing conditions. The team was selected by the selection panel consisting of former players Lisa Sthalekar (Seven Network) and Mel Jones (Fox Cricket), cricket.com.au journalist Laura Jolly and National Selector, Shawn Flegler.


Women's Big Bash League Teams
Women’s Big Bash League Teams


1. Beth Mooney (wk) (Perth Scorchers)

2. Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers)

3. Meg Lanning (c) (Melbourne Stars)

4. Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder)

5. Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars)

6. Laura Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)

7. Alana King (Melbourne Stars)

8. Sarah Coyte (Adelaide Strikers)

9. Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder)

10. Taneale Peschel (Perth Scorchers)

11. Sam Bates (Sydney Thunder)

12. Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

Coach: Ashley Noffke (Brisbane Heat)

In addition to the announcement of the team of the tournament, the player of the tournament and the young gun for WBBl was revealed.

Perth Scorchers all-rounder and captain Sophie Devine bagged the Player of the Tournament award, winning the award for the second consecutive time. Devine polled 31 votes just ahead of Melbourne Stars skipper Meg Lanning (29 votes). Votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the standing umpires at the end of each match meaning a player can receive up to six votes per match. Playing her first season for the Scorchers, Devine has scored 448 runs so far at an average of 56 including a century and three half-centuries. With the ball, she has scalped five wickets. She has played an instrumental role in her side’s journey to the semi-finals.

Also Read:  Who are the 5 New Zealand Players announced as backup for WBBL 2020?

Adelaide Strikers fast-bowler Darcie Brown was named the rebel Young Gun for WBBL|06. The 17-year old, who played her debut season, had a memorable tournament. She troubled the opposition batters with her raw pace and sliced through their line-ups more frequently than not. She picked up 10 wickets in 13 matches with best figures of 3-13 and an impressive economy rate of 5.52 runs per over. Brown was nominated alongside Sydney Thunder duo Rachel Trenaman and Phoebe Litchfield, Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes) and Courtney Webb (Melbourne Renegades).

Following each round, the Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) submitted a weekly nomination with an overall winner confirmed at the end of the minor rounds. The following criteria was used to select the weekly nominations and overall winner: (1) Participants must be under 21 at the start of the season, (2) Winner will be selected based on on-field performance and on-field and off-field attitude and (3) The winner will demonstrate skill, tenacity and good sportsmanship.

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here