Venue for India Women’s tour of Australia changed due to Pandemic and Border Restrictions

The pandemic and state border restrictions have once again posed an issue as the India Women’s Tour of Australia schedule had to be altered. The location has been changed as the series will now be played in Queensland instead of Sydney.


Smriti Mandhana in action. PC: Getty Images
Smriti Mandhana in action. PC: Getty Images


The series will now start on September 21st with the three ODIs that will be played in Mackay. Following the ODIs, the day-night Test and three T20Is will be played at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast.

The Indian Women’s squad that departed for Australia on the 29th of August as well as players from New South Wales and Victoria will start their two-week quarantine period today onwards in Brisbane. The rest of the Australian squad will assemble as the starting date of the series approaches.

On this decision, Cricket Australia’s CEO Nick Hockley stated, “We’ve been monitoring the situation across the country and it is clear that the current COVIC challenges prevent the original schedule from proceeding as initially planned. We are incredibly grateful to the Queensland Government for agreeing to quarantine the Australian and Indian players and enabling this important series to be played in Queensland. We are also delighted to be bringing our World Champion women’s team to Mackay and regional Queensland.”

Also Read:  What learnings from ODI Series can India implement in One-off Day Night Pink Ball Test?

Hockley continued, “Having had to postpone the series last summer due to the pandemic, we are looking forward to hosting an Indian team which boasts some of the best players in the world in this historic series featuring the first-ever day-night Test match between the two sides. We thank everyone involved for their support and cooperation to stage this series safely and look forward to our World Champion Women’s tea launching this massive summer of cricket against a class Indian team.”

The first ODI of this series in Mackay will be an opportunity for the Australian team led by Meg Lanning to extend their record-breaking 24-game ODI winning streak. This match will also be the first time that the two sides have met since the 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup at the MCG. 

This Commonwealth Bank Women’s series of Australia against India will kick start the international summer season of cricket ahead of the highly anticipated men’s and women’s Ashes Series against England.

Updated Schedule for India Women’s tour of Australia

Commonwealth Bank Women’s ODI Series v/s India:

September 21- Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay (Day)

September 24- Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay (Day-Night)

September 26- Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay (Day)

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Test v/s India:

September 30 – October 3- Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast (Day-Night)

Commonwealth Bank Women’s T20I Series v/s India:

October 7- Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast (Night)

October 9- Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast (Night)

October 10- Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast, (Night)


Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  India team announced for one-off Test, ODI and T20I series for Australia Tour
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here