All you need to know about the Kia Super League 2018

It’s time for the third (3rd) edition of the Women’s Cricket Super League (WCSL), also known as Kia Super League which is starting from 22nd July 2018. This T-20 format competition is played in England and Wales amongst six (6) teams.

One of the major changes in this year’s edition is that each of the six teams has to play a total of ten (10) matches in the group stage while in the earlier editions, each team used to play one match each against other five teams i.e. playing five games in the group stage.

Defending Champions – Western Storm

All you need to know about the Kia Super League 2018
Details about all the six teams participating in the tournament :

1. Surrey Stars 

Captain – Natalie Sciver
Team – Natalie Sciver, Aylish Cranstone, Sophia Dunkley, Grace Gibbs, Gayatri Gole, Eva Gray, Hannah Jones, Marizanne Kapp , Lizelle Lee , Laura Marsh, Bryony Smith, Rhianna Southby, Sarah Taylor, Dane van Niekerk, Mady Villiers

Players to watch out for – South Africa’s international team’s captain Dane van Niekerk, pace bowler and game changer Marizanne Kapp and batting opener Lizelle Lee. Sarah Taylor as wicket-keeper (Anyone better than her behind the stumps in women’s cricket!!!) Spinner Laura Marsh and domestic player Sophia Dunkley are other players to watch out for.

2. Southern Vipers 
Captain – Suzie Bates

Team – Suzie Bates, Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Tash Farrant, Mignon Du Preez, Amelia Kerr, Katie George, Paige Scholfield, Maia Bouchier, Charlie Dean, Arran Brindle, Carla Rudd, Lauren Bell, Sarah McGlashan, Fi Morris

Players to watch out for – New Zealand’s international team’s captain and the in-form sensational batter Suzie Bates, her team-mate opener Tammy Beaumont, along with all-rounder Amelia Kerr and Sarah McGlashan. Also, the English trio, Danni Wyatt, Tash Farrant and Katie George (main contributor to SV’s road to the finals in the last two editions) need to be given attention.

Also Read:  Pre-match Analysis of India Vs New Zealand - ICC Women's World Cup 2017

3. Western Storm 
Captain – Heather Knight

Team – Amelia Carr, Heather Knight, Stefanie Taylor, Claire Nicholas, Rachel Priest, Lauren Parfitt, Smriti Mandhana, Naomi Dattani, Rebecca Silk, Danielle Gibson, Fran Wilson, Anya Shrubsole, Lissy Macleod, Freya Davies, Sophie Luff

Players to watch out for – England duo Heather Knight and the match winner Anya Shrubsole take the lead alongwith the West Indian international team’s captain Stefanie Taylor. The White Ferns’ Rachel Priest as wicketkeeper batter who is an explosive batter especially in the situation of pressure. Also, Fran Wilson and bowler Freya Davies are players to watch out for as they impressed with their performances in the last two seasons. And last, but not the least, the first Indian player to be signed up for KSL, the super sensational Smriti Mandhana.

4. Yorkshire Diamonds 
Captain – Lauren Winfield

Team – Lauren Winfield, Katherine Brunt, Beth Langston, Alice Davidson-Richards, Beth Mooney, Chamari Athapaththu, Delissa Kimmince, Helen Fenby, Katie Levick, Sophie Munro, Bess Heath, Thea Brookes, Alice Monaghan, Gwen Davies

Players to watch out for – Captain Lauren Winfield and bowler Katherine Brunt. Beth Mooney (had a memorable run in this season’s Big Bash League) and Sri Lankan opener Chamari Athapaththu (remember her thrashing century against Australia in World Cup 2017 group stage match!!!) Also, all-rounder Alice Davidson-Richards and pacer Beth Langston.

5. Lancashire Thunder
Captain – Danielle Hazell

Team – Emma Lamb, Harmanpreet Kaur, Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Eva Jones, Nicole Bolton, Rachel Dickinson, Kate Cross, Amy Satterthwaite, Sophie Ecclestone, Ellie Threlkeld, Alice Dyson, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Natasha Miles

Also Read:  Where do we as cricket fans and critics draw the line?

Players to watch out for – England’s spin pair of Alex Hartley (moved to LT from SS) and Sophie Ecclestone. Indian hitter Harmanpreet Kaur (declared best Indian batter for the year 2017 which included her mighty 171* knock in the World Cup) and New Zealand’s Amy Satterthwaite.

6. Loughborough Lightning
Captain – Georgia Elwiss
Team – Georgia Adams, Elyse Villani, Lucy Highham, Sonia Odedra, Rachael Haynes, Sarah Glenn, Kirstie Gordon, Jenny Gunn, Jo Gardner, Abbey Freeborn, Georgia Elwiss, Amy Jones, Tara Norris, Linsey Smith, Sophie Devine
Players to watch out for – Amy Jones and captain Georgia Elwiss. Batting trio Jenny Gunn, White Ferns’ Sophie Devine and Australian opener Elyse Villani. And the Southern Stars experienced player Rachel Haynes.

To know the time-table, click here: 

The month long tournament will be played on several venues all around England and Wales and the finals are scheduled to be played on 27th August 2018 on the 1st Central County Ground, Hove. A total of twelve (12) matches would be telecasted live on Sky Sports Cricket.

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here