All you need to know about Women’s T-20 Asia Cup 2018

Hey guys!!! With summer vacations round the corner, you must be planning how to spend some quality time with your family. But wait… Before you finalize the “to do” tasks of your bucket list, we would like to inform you about one of the most significant international event coming up in Women’s cricket in the coming month i.e. June.

All you need to know about Women's T-20 Asia Cup 2018

Yes friends… Women’s Asia Cup is scheduled to be played in Malaysia from 3rd to 10th June 2018. This is the seventh (7th) edition of Women’s Asia Cup and third (3th) Women’s Asia Cup which will be played as a 20-over tournament. Six (6) teams are participating in this event, namely :-

1. Malaysia (Host)
2. India (Current Champion)
3. Bangladesh
4. Pakistan
5. Sri Lanka
6. Thailand

Now let’s have a look at the facts file and know about the participation of Indian contingent in the mega event :-

1. India has won all (6 times) the editions of Women’s Asia Cup till date.

2. Indian Squad –
a) Smriti Mandhana (Opener Batter)
b) Mithali Raj (Batter)
c) Veda Krishnamurthy (Batter)
d) Mona Meshram (Batter)
e) Taniya Bhatia (Batter) ( Wicketkeeper)
f) Harmanpreet Kaur (Batter All-rounder) ( Captain )
g) Jemimah Rodrigues (All-rounder)
h) Deepti Sharma (All-rounder)
i) Anuja Patil (Bowler All-rounder)
j) Shikha Panday (Fast bowler, All-rounder)
k) Ekta Bisht (Spin bowler)
l) Rajeshwari Gayakwad (Spin bowler)
m) Jhulan Goswami (Fast bowler)
n) Pooja Vastrakar (Bowler)
o) Poonam Yadav (Bowler)

Also ReadComplete SCHEDULE – Women’s Asia Cup 2018 in Malaysia

3. List of India’s Matches in the tournament

Also Read:  Interview with Nuzhat Parween - How Singrauli's football and athletic star made it to the Indian Cricket team?

a) 3rd June – Opening match against hosts Malaysia at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur (D/N match at 4:30 p.m. IST)
b) 4th June – India Vs Thailand at Royal Selangor Club, Kuala Lumpur (at 12:30 p.m. IST)
c) 6th June – India Vs Bangladesh at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur (D/N match at 4:30 p.m. IST)
d) 7th June – India Vs Sri Lanka at Royal Selangor Club, Kuala Lumpur (D/N match at 4:30 p.m. IST)
e) 9th June – India Vs Pakistan at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur (at 12:30 p.m. IST)

The final will be played between the table toppers on 10th June 2018 at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur (D/N match at 4:30 p.m. IST) and we all hope and await Women in Blue to be a part of it.

Hope all of you, like us, have marked the dates “reserved” and are eagerly looking forward towards a fantastic show of cricket throughout the tournament. Wishing all the teams the very best and may the best team wins.

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here