Malaysia and Indonesia Women’s Team announce squads for the 19th Asian Games 2023

The 19th edition of the Asian Games is all set to get underway from 19th September 2023 in Hangzhou, China. It was originally scheduled to take place last year, but, due to the Covid Pandemic, it was eventually postponed to the year 2023.

Malaysia Women's Cricket Team. PC: Twitter
Malaysia Women’s Cricket Team. PC: Twitter

Cricket will be making its return to the Asian Games for the first time since 2014. A total number of nine teams will be participating in the tournament, namely Hong Kong, China, Malaysia, Indonesia, Mongolia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Thailand.

Five teams, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Thailand have already qualified for the Quarter-Finals as per the ICC Women’s T20I Rankings.

The Malaysian women’s cricket team has a win percentage of around 44% in the T20I format. They were last involved in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Region Qualifier on home soil last month and also played a 3-match bilateral series against Hong Kong. They managed to get a couple of victories under their belt in four games during the ICC event, while winning the T20I series against Hong Kong 2-1.

Malaysia Women’s Squad for the upcoming 19th edition of the Asian Games:

Winifred Duraisingam (C), Mas Elysa (VC), Musfirah Nur Ainaa, Ainur Amelina, Nik Nur Atiela, Aisya Eleesa, Ainna Hamizah Hashim, Jamahidaya Intan, Mahirah Izzati Ismail, Wan Julia (WK), Dhanusri Muhunan, Aina Najwa (WK), Nur Arianna Natsya, Nur Dania Syuhada, Wan Nor Zulaika

The Indonesia women’s team has an impressive win percentage of around 72%. They were last involved in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific Region Qualifier in Vanuatu. They had an impressive tournament as they managed to win four out of their six games in the tournament, as a result, finishing just ahead of Japan in the points table.

Also Read:  Match 1: Malaysia v Singapore | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI

Indonesia Women’s Squad for the upcoming 19th edition of the Asian Games:

Ni Wayan Sariani (C), Ni Made Putri Suwandewi (vice-captain), Andriani, Desi Wulandari, Kadek Winda Prastini, Kisi Salisa Kasse, Lie Qiao, Maria Corazon Konjep Wombaki, Mia Arda Leta, Ni Kadek Ariani, Ni Kadek Fitria Rada Rani, Ni Luh Ketut Wesika Ratna Dewi, Ni Put Ayu Nanda Sakarini, Rahmawati Dwi Pangestuti, Sang Ayu Nyoman Maypriani

Asian Games 2022 Schedule (Women’s Cricket):

Indonesia v Mongolia 9:30 AM
Hong Kong v Malaysia 2:30 PM
20-Sep-23 Qualifier quarter-final (TBD v TBD) 9:30 AM
Quarter-final (India v TBD) 9:30 AM
Quarter-final (Pakistan v TBD) 2:30 PM
Quarter-final (Sri Lanka v TBD) 9:30 AM
Quarter-final (Bangladesh v TBD) 2:30 PM
Semi-final (TBD v TBD) 9:30 AM
Semi-final (TBD v TBD) 2:30 PM
Bronze medal match (TBD v TBD) 9:30 AM
Gold medal match – Final (TBD v TBD) 2:30 PM

Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 Live Streaming Details:

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Afghanistan, Bhutan and Maldives – Sony LIV and Sony Sports Network
China – CCTV
Japan – TBS
Singapore – MediaCorp Channel 5 and
Indonesia – MNCTV, RCTI, iNews TV, and Vision+
The Republic of Korea – KBS, MBC, SBS, and TV Chosun
Malaysia – RTM and Astro

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here