Germany’s National Team to Play 2021 T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier in Scotland

The world of sports suffered perhaps its worst year in 2020 due to the ongoing public health crisis. Actually, everything pretty much came to a sudden halt last year. Those into cricket betting had little more to do than play at a live casino India had to offer for the lack of sporting events to attend, even online. 

But things are returning to normal. Despite there are still restrictions and lockdowns in place in many countries, sports teams and governing bodies have found a way for the events to still take place, often through changing the locations of the matches played if one area or another has stricter restrictions in place.

This is the case for Germany – the country has one of the strictest sets of measures to limit the spread of the disease. 

T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier

The T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier will be held between the 26th and the 30th of August this year, hosted by Scotland. Aside from the host team of Scotland as well as the German national women’s cricket team, the national teams of France, the Netherlands, Ireland, and Turkey will also take part in the event. 


Germany Women's Cricket Team
Germany Women’s Cricket Team. (photo:

The top team of the event will progress to the 2022 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier, planned to be held next year – the hosts for the event haven’t been announced yet. This event will host the top teams not only from August’s qualifier in Scotland but also the winners of similar events held in Samoa, the USA, and Malaysia in September, as well as Botswana in October this year.

Also Read:  Ireland's Squad Announced for the ICC T20 World Cup European Qualifier in Spain

The Golden Eagles

The Golden Eagles, as Germany’s women’s national cricket team is called, is currently ranked 25th in the WT20I since August last year. The team only received full  Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) status in 2018, with their first WT20I match being the one played in the 2019 ICC Women’s Qualifier Europe hosted by Spain. The team lost all of its four matches in 2019 in front of more experienced teams like Scotland and the Netherlands.

In this tournament, Germany will have another chance to face Scotland and the Netherlands, as well as Turkey, France, and Ireland – their first game against a team with an ‘ICC Full Member’ status.

Women’s Cricket Bundesliga

There’s life beyond the national team in Germany’s female cricket scene. This year, the Women’s Cricket Bundesliga will start with 15 participating teams, including six clubs that participate in such a tournament for the first time in their history with a female team. The tournament will be played in four conferences – South, North, East, and West – to determine which teams can participate in the Finals to be held in September. The Big Final of the tournament will take place at the DCB stadium in Krefeld, Germany, on September 18.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here